Why I Know Climate Change Can Be Solved

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

"It is just a dream, Jason.
Don't waste your time. You're bound to fail.
I'm pretty certain you're living in the clouds."

These are the some of the parting words my uncle said to me when I visited him a few days ago.

I decided to respect my uncle's opinions for what they are: his own.
I did take down some notes. I'll add them to the list of common objections.
Pat myself on the shoulder and got back to work.

The vision I have does sound audacious.

  • Renewable energy is our main source of electricity; reducing the largest contributor of carbon emissions by 90% and bringing our global temperatures back to its natural balance.
  • This is done by doing it together, each home generating its own clean electricity and sharing it with their neighbours.
  • Each challenge becoming just another problem in the past, only to be forgotten and taken for granted.



I remind myself:

(1) Thoughts can turn into things.


Everything that man has created first existed in the mind.

Followed by a resolve to make things happen and it was so.

I will always remember the first time:

  • I switched on Google Maps and was intrigued how that 'blue dot' was representing me on the screen and was able to track my movement in real time.
  • I could stream any movie I liked instantly from the Internet on my TV.
  • I bought my first movie ticket online.

Each of the above is a normal event today but are memorable to me because they were once a subject of fear, uncertainty and doubt (FUD):

  • Satellite tracking our every movement was an unconsciousnable thought and the premise of the 1998 Will Smith movie 'Enemy of the State'.
  • In 2005, with the introduction of YouTube, I asked a director of a regional satellite TV company when might movies be streamed over the Internet and rebuffed me saying the technology is 40 years away.
  • I was strongly criticized by my parents for making a payment online then. Today, it is normal and forgotten.



History doesn't repeat. But it rhymes.

Hence to all the doubters, I acknowledge and respect your FUD.
I choose to treat them as what it is: FUD.
They are valid and need to be solved.
I may not have all the answers now.
But I am resolved to find it.

How do I know?

I just do.

In her post, @jassicania inspires me with her story of acute leukemia. She was told she only had days to live. That was 4 years ago. She quotes how she somehow just knew she can overcome it and attributes this mindset as an important part of materialising it so.

In her example I follow.


(2) Follow the clues.


On a spiritual level, I believe that everything happens for a reason and in its divine time.

The late Steve Jobs once quoted:

"You can't connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future."

Looking back, I have built my career around:

  • Renewable Energy
  • Education & Training
  • Equity Crowdfunding
  • Blockchain
  • Steemit

I take nothing by accident.

Every experience might seem separate on appearance, but contains clues to achieve a goal larger than myself.

This is my calling.

There is a saying that the solution is always found just outside our comfort zone. In my experience, I find this to be true every time. I believe that the answers to our problems are already within us. We know what needs to be done. We just need the courage to decide and clarity to make things happen.


(3) Believe in yourself.


Sometimes when the hill seems so steep, I would remember one of the best advice I have received from a friend of mine:

The only person you need to compete with is yourself. If you can be a better person each day than you were the day before, you will go very far.

I predict I would continue to carry this advice with me through this journey. It helps me keep my momentum and motivation up.

I know motivation doesn't last. But neither does a bath. That's why we do it everyday.


Buzz


Hi, my name is Jason aka @buzz.lightyear. I envision a future where renewable energy is our main source of electricity in this lifetime; reducing the largest contributor of carbon emissions by 90% and bringing our global temperatures back to its natural balance.

I believe that this is no easy task but it is achievable with your support.

I am developing an open blockchain that incentivises both producers and consumers of renewable energy and am looking to collaborate with brilliant minds who share this vision so that we can create a future where it just makes sense to go 100% renewable, visit your local store, buy some latest tech and generate energy for your own use and for others.

Sort:  

I hope you are right !

Always great content from buzz.lightyear. It is getting into the busy season and i am finding less time to post always nice to see something new about solar being put out there.

I went vegan because of climate change. After watching "cowspiracy"on Netflix, I learned that animal agriculture is the number one use of water. Now my vegan lifestyle has emerged into a beautiful journey♡

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

This post has received a 3.52 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @buzz.lightyear.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52