Steemit Airbrush Tutorial with Video #2

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

This is a continuation to the previous post on my airbrushed Biomech Vixen artwork.
Introducing my completed Biomech Vixen:
IMG-20180523-WA0013.jpg

Here are the remaining Step 4 - Step 6 to produce this artwork.

Step 4 - Adding the next details
In this step, I still stick to 3 colours (Grey, blue & white) to airbrush the skeletal fragments of the metallic effect. It is ok if you make a lot of mistakes (in terms of the colour tones) at this step as the next steps will cover most of this layer so those mistake will hardly be noticeable.
20180220_144939.jpg

Next,
Step 5 - Adding depths
In this step, I used the Blue and the White on top of the earlier Grey layer. Then, use Grey again to create another layer, so on and so forth. The purpose of alternating the colours is to create depth in order to produce the more realistic metal effect that I desire.

As this step is very repetitive, I normally will work alternately on the other parts of the artwork before I come back to this part.
So, for the background portion, I chose to create a fiery effect with the colours Burnt Amber, Red and White. The steps are similar to the steps of creating the metal effect frame. Every artist has their own style of airbrushing but personally, I discourage to use black as the colour tone.
20180302_003046.jpg

Last,
Step 6 - Highlighting
Once I am satisfied with the layering work down in Step 5 above, I repeat the same technique on the female portrait. This will make 'her' skin to have the glow effect. For the metallic effect, White is used to highlight certain areas in order to define the edges.
IMG-20180522-WA0050.jpg

Here's a clip to show the Highlighting step.


Song "Ondos Ku" (sang in Dusun language) by my cousin, Peter Kimara

This is a challenging artwork for airbrushing as it combines the strong metallic element and the soft portraiture element. My advice to those who are interested to learn airbrush art is, it takes a bit of creativity BUT a lot of time, discipline, patience and most importantly; passion, to produce a unique and well-defined work.

So, to the airbrush newbies, you don't have to worry so much, you just have to dedicate some time to practice the airbrushing technique. Try to do it as often as you can, even if you spend only 30 minutes daily. Don't be disheartened if the results is not as what you expected and it is very important that you enjoy your airbrush learning process.

It took me more than 10 years of soul searching to find that perfect way to passionately express my creativity. I have painted on almost every surface known to men. I believe that if you can challenge yourself to master airbrushing techniques, you will be able to airbrush on anything.

For t-shirt airbrushing, I use high quality water-based acrylic colour because it is very important that the artwork does not fade easily after every wash.

The paint that I used for my Biomech Vixen is the water-based Wicked Airbrush Paint by Createx Colors. Here are the colours list:
White
Golden Yellow
Red
Burnt Amber
Detail Driscoll Tone
Orange
Grey
Blue
Black
Airbrush Gun: Iwata HP SBS
2hp rotary compressor with air pressure of 1.5psi - 2psi

Thank you for reading / watching my tutorial and hope that you enjoy it!

To those who are interested in my custom airbrush artwork or tattoo services, I do accept SBD as mode of payment... STEEM ON
Here's a sneak peak of some of my previous BorneoAirbrush Artworks over in D-Tube

Special thanks to my cozin/editor
@sandralouis BBKK
P/s .. jan ko lupa balik kk kio..aramaitiii kaamatan kita

IMG-20180522-WA0040.jpg

Cheersss from Borneo ,
@BorneoAirbrush
DQmdJy1Xxk9zA8XictK8icBjJmVL9QtGwy4vV5cQ1LLjw2C.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @borneoairbrush, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56