Kelulut - Natural Jungle Honey from Sabah, Malaysia

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)


travelling with @bitrocker2020


After a month of running events around Malaysia to promote steemit I had to go visit my relatives in Sabah, Malaysia since I was already in the neighbourhood. My uncle the handsome man on the left has his quiet little place in the village ( we call it kampung ) called Kiambor in the district of Kuala Penyu ( known for a lot of fireflies and proboscis monkeys )

My uncle is known in the area to supply customized housing for raring kelulut its a type of insect which has characteristics like bees however instead of building a hive on the outside and high up in the trees, it uses the tree bark and makes its nest inside.


What my uncle does is to only cut the bark which the kelulut has begun making its nest and then customize the top so it maximize gathering of the honey.

this one is where the hive is well developed

another view of it

this is how a typical bark would look like after its cut and customised at the top

this is newly made and the kelulut has just started making its nest there

apparently my uncle loves to be creative and started designing it like a little home for these kelulut . I think it really looks cute and does encourage more of the people in the area to pickup this kelulut raring / honey harvesting.


Not knowing indepth of what kelulut was, i googled it and found that its honey has extremely good benefits as based on many research kelulut honey is rich in propolis which is an antioxidant that function as anti-fungal, anti-fungus, anti-inflammatory remedies and anti-fungus. Literally it can be your daily drink and great for people who are suffering from diabetes and also used as a prevention for cancer.

More information can be found in this link

http://tips4bodyhealth.blogspot.my/2012/07/benefits-of-honey-kelulut-bees-or.html


These stingless bees are mostly found in the tropics and of course Malaysia is super hot all year around and dense with jungle it make this a perfect breeding ground for kelulut.

Have you tried it ? It tastes pretty good and I wouldnt mind having it daily.
To my buddy @daddykirbs - your blog inspired me to check out beekeeping .. hehe


Cheers

"Stop Spamming & Start Creating"

@bitrocker2020

Sort:  

sangat sedap .. bisa minum harian

It's very interesting!

it is !! never knew about it till now.

Order satu madu kelulut hehehe

hahah ... mau tunggu dulu musim bunga baru top quality

Yup madu kelulut is very nutritious. A bottle of pure madu kelulut would easily cost MYR100 or more (well that's what my friend told me. Her mom is a kelulut keeper too).

wow ... an i drank so much of it =P i was planning to go look for a btl tomorrow to bring back to KL

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

Wahhh... bring some for me too ya. Wanna taste it too :)

I'll try to go find a btl . 😀

Very interesting! The Kelulut kinda freak me out though 😅

Hah .. they actually look cute

That is so cool! I have never heard of the Kelulut. Now I want to do some research to learn more! How fun for your uncle to have found a way to keep them to harvest the honey. I wonder how different it tastes compared to the honey that comes from the bees on my farm?

It's not as sweet as regular honey and I can't find a word to describe the earthy .. after taste . All I can say is that it's good 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54