Where Have I been over the past 3 weeks?

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Where Have I Been_.png

The Last Post I made was 15 Days ago.....

I just realized that the price of Steem has fallen to an abysmal $2 because of the bitcoin price fall.

Of all the times for that to happen, they choose the times when im not around to do that. I can't help but stare at the screen and ask the cryptoworld "What have you guys done while i was away!?"
It's crazy how long i've been inactive. I actually feel bad, looking at my last post being so many days ago..

Before i continue I need to introduce a little bit of who i actually am IRL, at least off the Steem Blockchain. You see, Professionally i am a freelance drone pilot/videographer. I fly big drones for big companies and get whatever data big clients ask for, imaging (photo/video), Mapping (cool 3D stuff like in Iron Man), Cloud points (wacky LIDAR stuff), whatever..
It's interesting for me to realize that my interest - cryptocurrency, is a growing industry, while my profession - Drones, is also another growing industry. The type of industry that is only now less than 2% of what it will be in 10 years, when i'm 34, hopefully with 10 years experience in both industries by then. and hopefully still making posts on the Steem Blockchain by then.

It's also worth noting that because both industries are so new (in Malaysia where i live especially), both industries has little to no oversight, any laws pertaining to them are scant and near impossible to enforce, as of now of course. Personally im paying close attention to the regulations and because as broke as i am, I very invested in this 2 space. I know its where the future is.

trenner_gedichte.png

Owh and by the way, remember when I used a picture of mine with some weird plane-thing at the background? yes, that's a drone job and i can finally tell you all because the final product is out. It's a Discovery Channel episode and guess which shot was mine..

While I'm not steeming, I fly drones. That's the short story. This month has been particularly hectic, I am currently in the outskirts of Malacca near a petrol factory, or appropriately called an Oil Refinery and Processing Plant. Do you know that almost half of the stuff we use everyday from your lip balm to sulphur to your bbq charcoal to the roads all comes from Petrol?
And the factories that make them doesn't just turn on with a flick of a switch. It takes at least a week to turn it off, at least a month to clean the insides of the furnaces and exhausts and pipes and whatnot and then another week minimum to start it up again. And i've been hired to provide drone services during this period.

It's a daily thing, and any day I am not in the fields flying the crafts, I will be doing maintenance, data analysis. A taxing job, but one that i enjoy.

I can't show you my work as there is NDA involved but here's another example of the drone i fly in another place.

There's that. I just wanna put it out there as to why I havent been online for some time. I definitely still keep on eye on the community though. I very amazed at how #Teammalaysia is growing now (We have an actual community bot now!!) so if you are a Malaysian and wants to be in a community, join us!! Follow @myach and join our Facebook group and Discord Channel by contacting us.

See you all when I can!!

image.png

Kristian Kho [Ian] is a 24 year old freelancer with a passion for steem and a deep desire to be a better person in every aspect. I aim to express any and all my thoughts on things that I find interesting as well as using this platform as a self-development log.

I am a part of #Teammalaysia, a decentralized community initiative that aims to empower local creatives and content creators specifically in Malaysia to create content through the Steem Blockchain.

If you want to stalk me, check out my other social media accounts too!

Sort:  

Pretty cool as a drone maneuver pilot. See things that most of us don’t have the chance to see and help people access dangerous place without being physically there :)

That is the main value we drone pilots give in terms of access. Having eyes in places previously unreachable has the potential to make work safer as well as reducing cost.

Human lives are far more valuable than drones so its better to risk a drone than to risk an absailer's life, just to give an example.

Ya, fully agreed on that. Drones are replaceable anyway and with drones, we can reduce the risk of the abseiler too! Good thing.

Very cool post and awesome job, @awesomianist! All the best

Very busy yet interesting life you have there..
Looking forward to read more drone flying posts 😊

I have more planned out! My drone flying is abit different from others though. Most dronies are into either speeding in the sky or taking breathtaking videos. Me though Im all about flying big drones and the industrial application of drones. Might be a tad boring.

No worries though, I do have something coming that you guys will be interested in!

Cool @awesomianist. I should bring u next time go hunting for wildhog, you can be my drone pilot scouting for wildhogs. 😂

hahahaha, siap bagi coordinates for the hogs for you hahahaha

It would be a surprise if you happen to be working close to airliquide plant. I was told by my sister who is doing her intern there, she says the landscape there is actually not bad at all. But yea, we all have our own life to catch. Anyway, welcome back to steemit :)

We're not there for the landscape but the plant itself. I can say we're more like "acquiring visual data' data "taking videos" becuase our clients literally dont care about how to the shot was make in a filmaking sense. only that they can see what they want.

Yea this job has been getting in the way of my steemit commitment big time. I can't wait to be back full time after April.

Welcome back dude! :D

I dont wanna go!! I wanna just stay here and dont leave... alas we all have personal commitments outside of steemit.

I know right? I've been out of this place for 2 weeks too! Guess we missed a lot.

What a rare job u have,nice sharing

Super Cool! Indeed, as a Kid used to remember crashing every single Drone I've had. Definitely, not an easy job and you don't wanna screw around. these drones are not cheap

NOT cheap at all! the one you see in the video? that easily costs a new Honda Civic. and we're talking the shiny new Honda Civic, not the cheap type.

It's a high stress high fulfillment job when everything goes right though.

Finally saw your post bro.

Anyway bro I am very interested with drone flying job and wishing I can be the pilot one day. Do inform me if your side there have training provided and vacancy. I love to try it out

If you are really interested, we can touch base IRL and get you in touch with going on a beginner's course on Drone Piloting!! I think one is going to happen in KK soon. Going through that course is your first step in being licensed as a professional pilot should that be a career you're interested in pursuing.

Cool bro. Do let me know the info bro. Wishing to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01