A Thin Line Between Adventure and Disaster, Or: Help, I Need an Adult

I generally think of myself as a homebody, as someone who is not adventurous. In reality, I am juuuuuuuust adventurous enough to get myself into trouble. Take today for example: since it was such a beautiful day, I thought I’d take my book over to the park near my house and read outside for once.

2018-05-02 13.57.05 HDR.jpg
the view from my porch this morning

I pictured myself sitting on the grass, basking in the afternoon warmth, book open on my lap. (Realistically, I probably would have ended up on a bench, because dog poop.) I put on a cute outfit, grabbed my tote bag, and headed out. It was going to be awesome, I knew it. I had a plan—well, sort of.

I had never been to this park before, so I googled the easiest way to get there. I did not look at the distance on Google Maps, so I didn’t realize it was a mile and a half walk just to get there by the suggested route. I also didn’t realize it would be up a massive hill. (OregonHikers.org tells me that the elevation gain is 690 ft. Is that a lot? It felt like a lot while I was climbing it.)

For whatever reason, Maps took me around the side of the park, so I entered through a back trail and got hopelessly lost. There was not a single place to sit and rest, let alone relax and read a book, and I was starting to get pretty nervous…this was not turning out to be the fun and easy outing I had anticipated.

What I expected:
khurt-williams-16097-unsplash.jpg
photo by Khurt Williams on Unsplash

What I encountered:
lora-ninova-416060-unsplash.jpg
photo by Lora Ninova on Unsplash

My phone was no help—it couldn’t seem to get a fix on my position in the park. I ended up using the compass feature, which still worked, thankfully. With the compass, I managed to come out the other end of the park…and right onto a highway with neither sidewalk nor shoulder to walk on, during rush hour traffic. Yikes. From there, it was a mile walk back to my apartment.

If I’d had good shoes on, maybe it could have been nice to take a surprise four mile hike, but no: I was wearing flip flops, so it was awful. I was limping on the edges of my feet by the time I got back home. I barely made it up the stairs to my apartment, and I had to stick my aching feet in an ice bath almost as soon as I got inside.

And now that I’m home safe, I’m worried about everything: were there ticks? Will I have bug bites I haven’t noticed yet? Did I accidentally brush some poison oak without noticing? I'm in pain, but my brain won't let me relax. Thanks, anxiety!

Since I have fibromyalgia, I can already tell that I pushed my body far past its limits, so I’ll be suffering tomorrow. In the worst case, I’ll be stuck in bed, using a cane to hobble to the bathroom, eating the food on the pantry shelves closest to my bed because I can barely move, or lying on the living room floor because I fell over and can’t get back up. (This has actually happened to me before. I lay there for an hour before someone came home and helped me up.)

As if all that weren’t enough, I’m having a massive hay fever reaction, but I can’t stand up long enough to find allergy meds, so I’m miserable on a whole other level. 😩

2018-04-28 15.59.01.jpg

This is not, alas, the first time something like this has happened to me. Every once in a while, I decide to be spontaneous and go out to do something fun, and through lack of planning it all goes horribly wrong. It probably also won’t be the last time it happens—this is just the way I am. Not all my outings are disasters, of course, or I would never leave the house. And when things go right, it can be beautiful, which is part of how I keep ending up in these situations.

Another part is that my particular blend of mental and neurological stuff means I stress myself out worrying about the little things, and fail to think about the big things. Sometimes I wonder how anyone thinks I’m an adult—it’s obvious I don’t have it together the way adults are supposed to. Or maybe other adults fall and skin their knees, or set out to read in the park and mess up their body on an unplanned four mile hike. Are y’all just too embarrassed to talk about it?

Maybe it’s because social media can be curated. We can look however we want to others—and I’m also guilty of that sometimes, but since becoming disabled, I have been learning to share the hard times, as well as the good ones. I like being transparent and authentic as much as I can, because I think it helps me have real connections to other people. I know who will be there when I’m struggling, and my friends know that I will reciprocate, if I’m able.

Being vulnerable is hard, and not everyone is willing to do it on such public platforms. I get that, but it’s isolating when no one else seems to struggle the way I do. I need the blooper reel on other people’s lives!

How about it? Will you tell me about a time that things didn’t go the way you expected, and you felt really out of your depth? Drop it in the comments, and I will commiserate with you!

DQmNfLM1Farkm7XiKWqkAAAPJR8ja7W76aZNYdhFqLhLrYU.png

Pictures by me unless otherwise noted.

Divider created by javehimself, and used with gratitude.

Steemit Author Banner 1.png

TGP-22-Banner.jpgClick the banner to join the Discord server, and click here to follow #teamgirlpowa’s curation trail; to delegate to @teamgirlpowa, click one of these links: 10 SP 20 SP 50 SP 100 SP or set your own amount here

lgbtbannerdirty0.pngClick to join the Discord server

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

43 with 4 kids, and I still don't feel like I'm adulting very well. I moved us to a foreign country with an insufficient plan. Then proceeded to lose 20,000 on a failed land deal. I still regularly run out of gas. All kinds of shit.

Thanks for sharing! I definitely run into the insufficient plan thing a lot, and it can be pretty demoralizing. I think you're killing it, though—kids are a whole other adventure, and my hat's off to you for being badass and raising four of them!

Thank you. I really appreciate that. I'm trying to focus on the things I'm doing right.

Wow, what an adventure 😳 At least you tried, so GOOD FOR YOU for doing that! My mother had fibromyalgia, too, and it was debilitating for her. I think the secret, though, is staying active, so bravo for that, too! 💙

I definitely try to stay active, especially since I'm also diabetic. Bodies are strange and awful and amazing!

I know how this feels. Since I became disabled (2,5 years ago) I've been shocked with how bad I can handle 'surprises' - there's just NO solution if you're in pain but your bike decides to break down and you have to be on time somewhere! There are so many solutions you would have been able to act on before that just don't work now you're disabled.

I don't have anxiety but I do experience intense frustration I need to learn to cope with. There's a real trick in embracing your body and accept it's boundaries and saying 'well this is it and it's okay'.

'Spontaneous' doesn't have to mean 'new'! Find a nice walk to an outside reading spot and if next time you want to feel/be spontaneous just go to that spot, or maybe be adventurous and walk just 1 bench further than last time? :-)

Thanks. Adjusting to being disabled is definitely hard, and just when I think I'm okay, I'll end up in a pinch and realize I've overshot my own capacity.

'Spontaneous' doesn't have to mean 'new'!
That's a good point, I'll think more about that, thanks!

You are doing great, I also feel like I'm not adulting at times too
<3
b.a.

Wow, I did not know any of this about you. All these times we talked i never knew this!

Haha, well, I think I can be pretty private without realizing it. I try to stay positive, too. (Sometimes, as with this post, I don't entirely succeed.)

Adventures like that are only fun if you're prepared. I hope you recover well. As for adulting, I'm still trying to get a grip on that... Really, I don't want to grow up, but I'm a mommy, so I pretend. ;)

Parents are very brave, in my opinion. I would be an anxious mess! (Really, I've babysat before, and I definitely was anxious and messy...)

Thanks! I'm still recovering, which has been a bit frustrating—I keep thinking I should be better by now, but I've been needing to nap a lot the past couple of days. Feeling unproductive, but I let myself be okay with that today. 😊

As a Lymie I can relate to your story. Going in flip-flops up on that must have been awful. I hope you did not get any ticks or insects bites during your hike.

❤️ I don't seem to have been bitten by anything, thankfully. Still recovering, but that's not totally unexpected.

To be honest I never want to grow up so don't worry about the not be adulty enough. Adults for the most part are boring.
How long have u had fibromyalgia? I didn't know it was a thing until recently when I been looking up all my symptoms for the last 8 months. I thought I was burnt out from over extending myself last year. Normally I have Down times but the recover this time I just got worse, my body was in pain all over particularly shoulders and neck. So I understand how u feel because after over exerting myself I'd feel dead and have to sleep it off.
Don't bother with flip-flops unless u are at the beach or just mooching around, terrible for posture and feet.

I first started having fibromyalgia symptoms in September 2014. I do pretty well with it in the summer, but cold weather makes it way worse, so winter is always hard for me. I knew about it for years before I developed it, because I have several friends who also have it, but I find most people still don't know much about it. Have you been thinking of seeing a doctor for diagnosis?

The flip-flops were me being lazy—I didn't want to hunt up a clean pair of socks!

I also have much worse aches and pain in the winter but I thought that was something connected to weather and also have seasonal affective disorder. As I haven't been to a doctor in 5 years or more and otherwise for these symptoms I've been well. I don't think there's anything they can actually do about it. I'm writing a post about it today for mental health Monday. Do you eat gluten products? Because I'm finding that I just cut out gluten the last couple of days and some of the symptoms of aches and pains are going down. I hope u check my post out later and tell me what u think.

I stopped eating gluten in 2016, and it does seem to have helped a bit. Mostly, though, I notice that my pain shoots up and my functionality takes a nose dive if I accidentally eat gluten again. It actually caused minor liver damage! I'm not sure I would have stopped if I'd known it would have to be permanent, but there's no going back now, so I work around it.

I heard you talk about your post on Steemit Ramble Discord. It took me a couple of days, but I came to check it out.

Wow, did you ever get sidetracked. 4 miles. The picture of the woods is lovely, but if you're in flip flops and not prepared for a hike, it can be really difficult. Hope you're in full recovery mode.

Definitely still recovering, but I'm well enough to do some chores, thankfully. That isn't a picture of the woods I hiked, though I may go back and take one in a few days, when I'm feeling rested enough. It was pretty, though I wasn't in a good position to appreciate it at the time. Thanks for reading!

Yeah, this story pretty much describes my life. Actually, I recently had a success of sorts and I was SO confused because I was expecting it to go a lot less smoothly.

I know that feeling, when you're just waiting for the other shoe to drop. Congrats on successing, though. You did the thing, yay!

Oh golly, I didn't even say what the thing was! I replaced the garbage disposal in my kitchen, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88