You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reclaiming My Time: Introversion and Authenticity on the Blockchain

This is a really thoughtful post. I still don't know where to put myself on that spectrum. I always thought of myself as an extrovert. I do well in social situations, but I find more and more that I'd really just rather not. I used to want to interact more for sure, but I've never been one to really want to be in social situations often. Anyway, I don't guess it matters, but I can definitely identify with a lot of what you've said. I absolutely cannot skim a post. I have to read it thoroughly, and I have to comment thoughtfully or not at all. And that consumes a lot of energy. I just can't really manage discord. Writing, reading, and commenting is the extent of it for me. Especially with the chaos of life with a partner and kids. In any case, thanks for sharing this. It's helped me think about and honor some things.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading and sharing with me. I also used to think of myself as an extrovert, because I took introvert to mean shy. But since I hit my mid-20s my capacity for and desire to be in a lot of social situations has rapidly declined. I have always been something of a homebody, and now that's even more true!

I'm glad sharing my thoughts about this has helped you to honor your own experiences.

It's sort of odd. I really, really don't like being in situations around people I know but don't like or feel neutral about. I am happy to be around people I am deeply connected to, and I am actually fine to be around people I don't know at all. Like I get excited thinking about traveling and meeting people on big adventures, but going to the village across the river just sounds awful. It's this odd combination of homebody who really loves adventure and travel. I just have to have a balance maybe.

My first international travel experience was a study abroad in Ghana, where I lived for four months. Go big or go home, I guess!

I get that. I'm a go big or go home girl too. Did you enjoy Ghana? My first was Bolivia which is incredibly beautiful, and the people were very, very kind.

Ghana was amazing, and I'm so glad I went. I got needed distance and perspective on my life. I also ate a really simple, home-made diet, and I think that helped with my health. Plus, everyone I met was really friendly. I hope I can go back again someday, because I loved it.

Oh my. I'm gonna have to add it to my list. Sailing to Africa has always been on my list, but as it still seems so far off, I haven't gotten super clear on where I want to visit when I get there. One of my best friends is in Guinea right now, and he's loving it.

I adored Ghana, and totally recommend it. Can't speak for other parts of the continent, though I hear nice things about Togo, Liberia, and Morocco.

Mmmmmmm. I should start planning that trip. Planning trips makes me happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60930.84
ETH 2666.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44