You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reclaiming My Time: Introversion and Authenticity on the Blockchain

in #teamgirlpowa6 years ago

Such a thoughtful posts. I agree too. I could not post everyday, and I struggle with the idea of every week. On Facebook, I couldn’t even maintain every month.

Also, I’m a private person in real life. So it’s fighting that idea and putting myself out there with my writing that I’ll always struggle with. I’m still not sure what I want to do with Steemit. I just see it as an “Inspiration Catcher” and an opportunity to challenge myself. But each posts is a footprint, and as unrealistic as it seems, I’d like them to be imprints I am proud of, that reflects who I am, rather than a rushed desperate attempt to be noticed. If I’m to be noticed, I want to feel enriched by knowing it’s by people who might get me or the message I wish to convey. Besides being introverted, it’s quite hard knowing you’re often misunderstood. So Steemit is an opportunity to connect with different people.

I think @teamgirlpowa and the @Isleofwrite are fabulous communities. I think at most I have time to invest in one more, but it’s finding a the right community that’s hardest for me. As you also said, our time is finite, and I feel that social media (especially for the introvert) has the risk of sucking too much energy. In the past, I’ve invested too deeply with online identities and forums, what I’ve found is that it drains me too much. So it’s continually finding that balance that still inspires and energise, rather than becoming so deeply affected by others and worrying about them. And that’s the crux of my real life introversion, I’m very sensitive of my environment and the emotions of others in my vicinity. So it’s easier to maintain distance.

Disappearing for awhile is perfectly fine and advisable. We need to always maintain the connection between online and RL.

Apologies if I sound preachy, these are just my own thoughts as I wonder the Net and self reflect on my online experiences. I very much enjoy your thought-provoking posts.

Sort:  

In the past, I’ve invested too deeply with online identities and forums, what I’ve found is that it drains me too much. So it’s continually finding that balance that still inspires and energise, rather than becoming so deeply affected by others and worrying about them.

This is what it comes down to for me a lot as well. Investing time and energy beyond my ability to keep up is very draining. Don't worry, you don't sound preachy. :)

Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46