I am a Woman, Doesn't make me Less Human 😡

in #teamgirlpowa6 years ago

image
Source1. item

I am a woman

That shouldn't make me less human

I've got emotions

I bet you wouldn't want to see my reaction

But I have to express how I feel

Even though you don't think it's real

You slap me, I keep quiet

I do same and there's a riot

It's a taboo when a woman assaults a man

But it's next to normal when when men do same to a woman

I cook, clean, take care of the kids and act like a maid

But when half of it is done by a male, then he deserves some accolade

I'm told to sit at the back

Because the front row is reserved for the men in black

My opinions are mine for keeps

But yours is accepted even if it's cheap

You ask me to keep shut that I can't lead

You'll be in power because you're the head

We both attend an interview

And despite performing better than the guy in blue

He is taken because I'm a woman

And such jobs are reserved only for a man

I have denied and hidden my anger for so long

That doesn't mean I'm not strong

For it didn't make the anger disappear

It actually made it reappear

I don't care if you hate me after this rage

I'd be glad I freed myself from this cage

I am a woman

That doesn't make me less human.

This is my entry into #TeamGirlPowa Feminism Fire Contest

Artist Statement

I wrote this piece thinking about what women go through in the name of being a woman.
As a woman, we tolerate a lot in silence because of what others, especially the male folks may say.
I know it's totally alright to feel angry.
At least, it's even approved in the Holy books

be angry but do not sin.

It doesn't mean it's a sin and I don't know why it is seen as one when it's the female folks expressing this anger.

This is just a reminder - that we have emotions too and we have the right to express our anger; but please do not interpret it for hatred.

This is just a free rage which made me feel free from this cage.

The cage of women's silence...

how we've been made to keep quiet for almost any and everything....

My name is Juliet Israel and I am a woman

Sort:  


I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Sometimes guys are also on the deficit see if when it comes to jobs oh

Lol
But ladies are more....

Don't argue please

Lol OK I know ladys are more.

This is a nice piece... Alot of us 'ladies' need to start screaming about all these.
Our voices need to be heard.

Exactly, thanks a lot dearie.....

this is great, I feel your passion and fire and stand with you, very well said @julietisrael.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58994.09
ETH 2525.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47