Hometown Showcase: Greater Sudbury and the Temporary Jesus Head Fiasco!

in #teamcanada7 years ago

We all have things we are proud of and disgraced of about our hometowns. I think this is a fun idea for the #TeamCanada and #TeamAustralia communities to get to know each others a bit more.


Source I'm sure you want to know WFT this is all about!

I'm going to start it off with a disgraceful and hilarious incident from last year, that I still laugh about to this day and love showing off to people that never heard about the story. They did say at the time that it had made international news although I kind of doubt it, but here's my chance to confirm or deny this story so please let me know if you heard about this.


Source

So anyways we have a downtown area that can be a bit rough (like every city I'm sure). So one of the churches has a statue of Mary and Baby Jesus (above) and vandals routinely break the head off this poor thing. The church often had to pick it up from the ground and reattached it, but one day someone stole the head and the poor statue went headless for many months while the church tried to raise money to replace the head.

Then last year about this time actually, a local artist offered to make a replacement head for the church and they though it sounded like a great idea so they accepted and shortly after this head was presented and installed on the statute.


Source

It was always meant to be temporary and that's why it was done in terracotta clay. The artist was planning to explore stone carving more to prepared for the final piece as she had never worked with that medium before.


Source

The only problem was people didn't really like it. They kinda though it looked grotesque and wasn't a very good representation of Baby Jesus.


Source

So some people thought this was pretty funny and there was even an Instagram account called "temporaryjesushead". Where they photoshop this head into movie images and popular Canadian images. I'm going to post a couple from that account below. There are many more and it's worth checking out.


tempjesushead.png
tempjesushead3.png

Anyways the terracotta started to melt and decay in the rain and it was staining the rest of the statue so it had to be removed and it was returned to the artist. The good news is that from all the publicity the story generated, the real head was returned to the church and re affixed to the statue once and for all.

I hope you liked this little story from my hometown, hopefully you enjoyed it and if you want to know more about Sudbury I can certainly share some other interesting stuff. I would like to encourage others to share a bit about their hometowns for everyone else. I think it's a great way to see the world and learn a bit off the beaten path.

I was inspired by @scooter77 from #teamaustralia and his showcase of some small towns in Australia that he has been too.


Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Lol. I've never heard of this but I love it! This is hilarious.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @phelimint to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PheliMint from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow that happened? Wow of course since I'm away I don't hear about that but wow that is an interesting one. Great to know the real head got returned, and bless that lady's heart for trying with a new medium. Oh but Canada..the use of the head on other people? Ha geez.

Oh man that's almost scary looking, they actually agreed to this temporary head?

I'm fucking dying! Those pics slayed me. That thing is absolutely horrible. Sucks vandals knock baby jesus' head off! That's cold shit. Oh man the heritage moment pic got me good man lol Great idea I'll have to think of something for this next? Sorry I missed this post till now @phelimint

Only in Canada, you say! What a pity! lol I am sure stranger things have happened. Small towns tend to breed these types of shenanigans.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Steem-Coin-Small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

4.07...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69