Hockey is a Pretty Rough Sport

in #teamcanada7 years ago (edited)

20170329_jaromeiginla_derykengelland_800w.jpg

Well it's Saturday night, that means millions of Canadians will soon be gathering around their television sets to watch Hockey Night in Canada.

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_amlq9q3qdn48s0ow4wk008ss4_640.jpg

It's an institution here, much like Sunday Night football is in the United States.

The games changed over the years, there's less fighting now in the sport and the players today are younger and quicker. That doesn't mean it's not still action packed.

connor-mcdavid-cut-face.png

One thing hasn't changed, you still have to be tough to play this game. With 200 lb men flying around on a frozen surface trying to hit eachother, the potential for injury is around every corner. Also they weild sticks and play atop razor sharp skate blades ofcourse.

joe-thornton-052816-getty-ftrjpg_j2fzbzln88r5119tsv053p1e1.jpg

I'm sure most people have seen hockey players smiling to reveal missing teeth. Often times they don't bother to replace them until after their careers are over, because they'd probably just get knocked out again so why bother?

brent burns.jpg

Fighting is rarer but it still occurs, nothing like back in the day though. While some people miss the excitement..the new game is still action packed and nasty injuries do occur.

zednik-slits-throat.jpg

The worst injury to date was in 1989, when Buffalo Sabres goalie Clint Malarchuck took a skate to his neck that split his jugular.

p7Gh3vT.jpg

Players and fans watched horrified while the goalie nearly bled out on the ice. If not for the trainer's quick actions, and sticking his fingers in the goalies throat to pinch of his viens, the player would have died on the ice. Clint took over 100 stitches to repair the damage!

Often times players still lace em while still dealing with a myriad of injuries. They always want to be in the lineup to help their team win so broken bones, torn ligaments and tons of stitches doesn't mean they'll sit out and watch from the press box.

4309a8e97bd8ee6c4fea0b66839766d1--stars-hockey-ice-hockey.jpg

Some may think it's crazy to hoot and holler at grown men chasing a frozen puck around the ice while trying to kill eachother, but I just call it another weekend of good old Canadian fun! 😎

Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

DQmYwzBeLvECTuPXdcvESQYeCewjXYKqAZfCn4rB87Zm6Gy (1).png
Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Hockey is great but dangerous

Jeez, hockey is Canada's football.

Or is football America's hockey? 💥 mind blown! I think hky is older than football? 😛 Either way #tiltcoveballers

Good point! HA!

I remember watching hockey night in Canada when they six were 6 teams! How about you? Do you remember who the goalie was that designed the first goalie mask and why? Those were the days before protective helmets and face masks. Fights broke out so frequently we used to say "I went to a fight and a hockey game broke out".

Original 6! Wow Ceci you could be my grandma 😊 Jasque Plante invented the mask, I remember the commericals on tv about it. Can u imagine plating nets with no face protection? That was insane!

I told you I was long in the tooth!

Awesome.I can’t wait to go and see the Ducks in Anaheim on New Years Eve. Hopefully there is a lot of biff too!

Oh that'll be epic, do u know who they play?

Arizona Coyotes.... Not sure who is best or the most brutal but I don’t really care. My first Hockey match live!!!

Yeah man you'll enjoy it. They always have good food and drink too. The best part is you'll be in Cali on New Year's, that's awesome!

Awesome post! The Malarchuck pic still makes me cringe... Hockey is THE sport!! Altough this year our team is just pitiful, I'm happy we missed the game tonight, got our asses kicked by those pesky maple leafs,hehehe...😛

Oh yeah u guys got stomped, the new kid got pulled after five but hey..Niemi became the first goalie to suit up for 3 different teams in one season 😝 that's neat

It was so awesome when we had both Price and Halak, this year it's almost scary to watch the game, seems everytime we're doing good they trade a few players to make shure the cup is out of reach. Another grizzly scene altough not bloody was when Chara smashed Pacioretti on the side of the rink and he just fell limp on the ice, we all thought he was dead for a moment.😱 It's a tough sport but we wouldnt have it any other way🤘🏻

Flames fan eh? U like I used an old Iginla pic? Just for you haha I'm watching MTL vs TOR now. I'm a Leafs fan

I'm just supporting the Calgary team hehe, I haven't watched too much hockey to understand it. I come from Costa Rica where hockey isn't a thing there, so I'm still learning. Watching the game at home then?

Yeah, just myself and my cat. My wife went out but that's ok, I don't have to share the pizza I just ordered 😊

Football may be big in the U.S.A. but still nothing like a good Hockey game! I've worked in several sports venues and ide take a good Hockey game over any other sport.

The rink is always a great atmosphere. Thanks for checking out my blog 👍😎

Yeah buddy following ;)

Hockey is pretty big in Canada. People love the fights.

Yeah I can't lie, I do too. Thx for dropping in

This post has received a 2.52 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @goldenarms. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39