Buttermilk biscuits for breakfast

in #teamcanada6 years ago

Hi everybody

I made up some buttermilk biscuits for breakfast and thought I'd share the recipe.
IMG_20180324_090630.jpg
Pre heat the oven to 425*F

So for this, get out a large mixing bowl and get the ingredients ready...

2 Cups white flour
1 cup buttermilk
For a buttermilk substitute, add a splash of vinegar to regular milk and let it sit for a few minutes to get thickened
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 Tsp baking soda
6 Tbsp cold butter (frozen works)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar

In the big bowl, add the dry ingredients and mix well with a whisk or fork
IMG_20180324_082935.jpg

Cut in the cold butter with a knife, or if the butter is frozen use a cheese grater. Then squish it into the dry ingredients to kinda make it crumbly

IMG_20180324_083410.jpg

Pour in the buttermilk, and gently mix it, just until combined, too much mixing makes dense heavy biscuits!

IMG_20180324_083643.jpg

Place the dough on a floured surface and Pat it down about to 1/2 inch thick then fold it over itself.

You need to pat and fold this dough about 5 or 6 times. Then pat it out to around 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick and cut with a cookie cutter or the top of a drinking glass. I use a jar lid ring for this. But I have used a heart shaped cookie cutter before for a special Valentine's breakfast for my wife.

IMG_20180324_083938.jpg

Place the biscuits either on parchment paper or a non stick baking sheet about 1/4 inch apart from each other, and bake for 10-12 minutes.

IMG_20180324_084211.jpg
IMG_20180324_090551.jpg

There it is, perfectly fluffy and light, almost as good as grandma's! I know, I said almost, because let's be realistic, they'll never be quite as good as grandma's were.

IMG_20180324_090630.jpg

Thanks for reading, and bon appetit!
DQmeKYd83x5pG2QShqNh83BvbvXRx2s2yNLiq87Cq8tNteS_1680x8400.pngU5drBHy4QSjCwhjbPnC7nJVoSfDeWPX_1680x8400.jpeg
DQmXyyg1YVHKw1ZbguhsoRa92GUwovFEifj8XfWaTPvnY4H_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Mmmm ! love buttermilk biscuits and those look delicious ! thanks so much for including the recipe ! upped and resteemed ! I will also be back to upvote and resteem to share on my @momskitchen blog ! Mmmmm!😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋😋💕💕💕💕

Cheers! This is a great recipe, go try it out, some times I add shredded cheese and apple!

Oh for sure ! I like them too with grated cheese added ! Mmmmm!💕👍😋😋😋

The cold butter is the key brother. Glad to see you’re still using the fat Elvis i posted. 👍

Yeah, it's a sweet pic dude. Yup, my ma always kept butter in the freezer for biscuits. She always used a cheese grater for that as well, works like a charm!

Cheese grater for the butter... Genius! These look so good.

I know it is not a good time (it is 1:47PM here) but I will whip up a batch now. Thanks for the recipe.

It's always a good time for biscuits!

Now I can't get that old Sir Mix-a-lot song, Buttermilk Biscuits, out of my head. If you haven't heard it, it's worth a google. Those sure do look tasty.

They are so good... One of my favorite things to have in the morning. Sometimes I put grated cheddar cheese in them as well!

Nice. Just thinking about breakfast myself :)

Go whip up a batch! Only takes about 20 minutes...

Definitely looks good!

My wife is on the keto diet still, so we’re not eating much bread these days. That reminds me of the biscuits at KFC. Maybe I’ll have to go pick up a biscuit there later on!

They're similar to those KFC ones or Popeyes chicken biscuits. But home made are more gooder for sure!

Can’t beat fresh out of the oven!

Self-made food is always the best. Have a nice weekend.

Sure is. Cheers

Mmmmm ! upped and resteemed as promised ! wish I had some right now !😋😋😋😋😋😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68