21 Day Diet Challenge - Completed

in #teamcanada6 years ago

Alright folks, my diet challenge is done... It was a big change for me. I learned how to eat vegan, lost almost 18 Lbs, and haven't had a beer for 3 weeks! Until now, I'm rewarding myself with a Granville Island English Bay Pale Ale tonight, by myself in a hotel in LaRonge SK. I started this challenge in a hotel in Northern SK and I guess it's only fitting that I'm ending it in a hotel in Northern SK!
IMG_20180304_204654.jpg

Hey look! That's my pocket silver antelope hanging out with me again!

Anyways a quick recap. I started out this challenge, in a hotel, eating at restaurants and not having any luck finding enough food. Once I was home from the road, I had a much easier time, especially since my job can be physical, running wires in buildings and operating big 1/2 HP hammer drills for hours at a time. The lack of calories was really taking its toll on me early on!

At home though, I was cooking up a storm, all kinds of creative vegan things, lots of hearty root veggies and squash! A much better food intake. Then I discovered hemp protein powder, that was awesome for making smoothies in the morning.

All in all, I'm glad we did the challenge, it's great for testing your will power and also getting into better health, but I wouldn't recommend people doing quite as extreme change as I did!

Looking forward, I am planning to really limit my bread and gluten intake, but I don't think I could go meatless forever, unless we have a zombie apocalypse or something.

I want to thank everyone for their kind words and encouragement on my little journey and for all the helpful tips!

Here's a final pick of my vastly reduced torso! I haven't been this thin in probably 20 years!

1520219231591812861429.jpg

Cheers everyone!

Sort:  

Skinny - E!

Well done man!!! Now, i want the full report on the next cheeseburger 🤪👍

Hopefully if/when I make it to the 60th, tomorrow, there will be a nice juicy burger for me at the 1 restaurant in town!

O Man, that is going to be carnage!

Congrats!!

I tried the Ketogentic diet last year for about 3 weeks and I lost 18 pounds as well. If you are into challenges this one may be for you too. It also cut out the ability to drink beer and I had a severe loss of energy in the beginning. I eventually gained back all of the weight but it was a nice change and lets me know I can go further next time or maybe just stick to what I can and not be as aggressive in the dieting.

I looked into the keto diet, but I'm not sure it's for me. Everyone I know that tried it liked it, but they all ate lots of bacon and eggs, and I won't eat pork, and eggs on their own make me feel sick for some reason, except eggs from the farm, I seem to be able to eat? But yeah, it works well, so I think it's great for people who can do it! I'm thinking for me just plainly eating less may be my full time thing, that and working out more, I guess!

Thanks

Mmmmm beer
you know its bad when i notice the beer before the silver lol

That's only natural, lol! And those folks in Granville seem to know what they're doing!

Well done and congrats on the achievement , fat_elvis doesen suit you anymore , i like the hemp part of your diet ( who said weed is bad for you ) im a bit curious to see a pic of your torso before and after , hard to compare with just after . Respect buddy, stay blessed !

Yeah,I thought of that, I'm not sure au have a pic on my phone, I'll have to dig one out!

Well done! I was curious about one thing. How do you feel overall after the experience? Nice that you rewarded yourself with a Granville Island, English Bay pale ale. That's a great beer! I used to live in Vancouver and like their beers!

Thanks Steve, overall I feel pretty good, it's nice having that weight gone. Now the hard part... Keeping it off!

I hear you! I lost 15 pounds in a month of not drinking. But I love beer so much that I had to consider do I not want to drink beer anymore? And the answer was maybe I should eat more healthfully and drink a little less... moderation!

Congrats man, well done! Looking good buddy.

Thanks KP! It feels good to finish without cheating on my diet! I wasn't sure if I could do it for a while, but I did.... I'm pretty happy with with myself!

Well done on the diet buddy, atleast you pushed yourself to show that you had the will power... anything is possible...

Thanks Meilo!

Congratulations that is great. Think you should treat yourself to some nice shiny silver to celebrate;)

I just might do that when I get home! Some shiny reward would be great!

I knew that you would accomplish the goal you have set for. Now that you are an @ex-fat-elvis you will have a much easier task maintaining your health and body. Congrats.

Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00