Team Australia Mentors : Silver Round Winner and Project Hiatus

in #teamaustraliamentors6 years ago (edited)

About a month ago today I offered up a Silver STEEM Round as a raffle prize for all the participating Mentors of the project. I left the door open for any newcomers by including any new Mentor volunteers for March in the draw. Well, it’s April now so it’s time to give this thing away!

mentor2.jpg
Source

This morning I did a draw for the 8 participating Mentors on the #teamaustralia Discord (I excluded myself and @mattclarke who opted out too since he has a heap of them already) and the winner is @lordnigel who volunteered to mentor new #teamaustralia member @what-is-life back in February. Congrats to him. I’ve sent him a message on Discord and will stalk him on the Blockchain if I have to so that I can get this Silver STEEM Round off in the mail A.S.A.P. On the subject of Silver STEEM Rounds, pre-sales have just begun for the 2018 edition which you can read about HERE but more about that later for those who are interested. Yes, I will be buying some of those too.

steemround18.jpg

On a more sombre note, a lot has happened in the last couple of months since this Mentoring Project was kicked off. The most notable has been the big correction across the whole Crypto market and neither STEEM, nor the #teamaustralia membership intake has been left unscathed. We went from taking in about 17 new members a week back in early February, to a situation today where we might be lucky to be picking up 1 or 2 new members a fortnight.

cryptocrash.jpg
Source

As a result of this I am far less concerned about new members falling through the cracks and I am re-focusing my own Volunteering effort away from on boarding and retaining new members and instead I am gearing more toward building up and strengthening existing communities. I personally believe that as the Crypto market consolidates so should we here on STEEM amongst those who are prepared to stay through the tough times. As a result of all this I am putting the Mentoring Project on Hiatus.

hiatus.jpg
Source

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little bit disappointed with the lack of broader community support for the project. There has been a couple of people who really have been very supportive and I continue to be very appreciative of the work of the tireless @choogirl on the recruitment front and the vision of guys like @mattclarke and @ausbitbank However I don’t feel like #teamaustralia is ready to get behind this kind of idea yet. With a big bust in the Crypto market the timing for it is wrong.

tonyrobbins.jpg
Source

Maybe this idea will get another run down the track though. It was always a bit of an experiment to put the idea out there and sometimes you just have to try something to find out if it will work. Who knows what the future will bring. I have lost a couple of Mentees myself to inactivity, but I am still trying to provide a bit of support and engagement with the other ones I’ve taken on and I hope other Mentors will continue to do that too. But for now I will stop bugging @choogirl about those Recruitment posts….until next time!


steemsilvergold_buggedout.png

teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://www.leeds.ac.uk
https://www.dashforcenews.com
http://www.reedsterspeaks.com
http://theladiescoach.com

Sort:  

It's still a good idea Bugged. I didn't formally agree to mentor anyone, but it did make me more conscious of commenting and upvoting newbie posts that I find interesting since I do look through the official TA feed everyday and at least do a quick scan of most people's posts.

I have a couple of new people this week, so I'll be writing a TA update tomorrow for Wed your time.

Thanks @choogirl If there has been some positive outcomes from it then it's been worthwhile to try.

I think with our current intake rate we can continue doing things informally for a while longer as many like yourself have been doing. I had just become concerned when I saw such huge intakes and thought it might help to put some structure and guidance around onboarding those members. Maybe I just got caught up in the mania and jumped the gun ;)

It's also hard when more people seemed to express an interest in being menteed, including the ones who've been here a while now. Not having a dig at them, but I think people underestimated their knowledge and the value in what they could offer someone who literally just signed up. It actually doesn't take that long to figure things out, especially if you hang around in discord where your learning curve will be a lot quicker. There's always people to bounce questions/ideas off in there.

I agree, it is a good idea and this post had also made me more aware too. I will try my best to go through TA posts more often to support TA members more.

Super sweet...I never win anything!! thanks so much...Yay!!!

...just hang in there everyone, Steemit will take off again - until then quality of quantity sound good to me :)

Congrats again man. Thanks for dropping in with a comment :)

It’s cool that you are taking newbs under your wing. Hopefully we consolidate into a couple all powerful communities

Thanks. I would personally much rather see a lot of smaller and diverse autonomous communities. Voluntaryism can only really work if you have Volunteers to implement it though :)

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47