Roasting a Spit Pig - Celebrating a 60th Birthday in Australia

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Celebrating in Australia

Happy weekend everyone. This morning started with setting up the spit ready to roast the pig. We got a 28kg pig prepped by our local butcher and mounted on th roasting pin. It was a lot easier to have the butcher mount the pig and tie it to the spit than it would have been for me.

We hired the spit from a local guy cheaply over Gumtree and set it up ready for the pig. After getting the heat beads hot and ready on went the pig.

1.5 hours in and this is what it looks like:
IMG_0062.JPG

The fire pit is ready in the back ground for later in the evening for a night of festivities.

We are celebrating our fathers 60th Birthday. All family and friends have made the journey from the winter lands of Melbourne and Tasmania for the sunny winters of Queensland for the big night.

Looks like it's going to be a hard day of this!

IMG_0063.JPG

Happy Birthday old boy, the drinks are on me tonight.

Have a great weekend everyone wherever you are in the world.



scooter77 footer ta - bearone.png

Upgoat footer.png
Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the footers :)

Sort:  

G'day. Pig on a spit!!!!!
What's your address? I'm up in Darwin but I reckon I could get a flight and be there in about 5 hours just when it's ready.
(Of course, I'll bring my own XXXX)

Happy Birthday to the old fart!

It's going great and smelling even better! XXXX will not meet the grade I'm afraid! LoL

Bugger! I know when I'm not wanted.... anyway, I took a big pork fillet out of the freezer, so I'll have my own barbie.
Enjoy your party!!

Cheers bud. It was awesome!

Woohoo...what a great idea! My father inconveniently is born in January so if we do this we will all collapse from heat stroke, but I will have to contemplate the chilled alternative! Pass on birthday wishes to dad and hope the family have a great weekend together! I'm sure I can smell roast pork from the Sunny Coast lol...

Thanks @aussiesteem. It was a great night that came with a slight headache this morning. Now we have plenty of pork to feed an army!

Yay...hot roast pork sandwiches all week!

Happy six decades dads! Enjoy the day and the night and the festivities :D

looks great -way to go and congrats to Dad

Looks great @scooter77!👌

Enjoy your day!☺

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Scooter77 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Epic Feast! Awesome haha

It is a dish that I can not see in Japan. Grilled pork is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29