You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Myself to Team Australia!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Nice to meet you too! :D

No, he hasn't watched the Castle yet! It is definitely on my list of things to make him watch though. I need to find it somewhere, I used to have it on DVD but it seems to have mysteriously disappeared, and sadly it's not on Netflix.... that should really be rectified! That's hilarious with your husband looking at you blankly after that amazing quote, did he end up enjoying it? I've noticed that our humour can be considered weird when it comes to foreigners. I tried showing mine Russel Coight's All Aussie Adventures... didn't quite get the reaction I expected, haha!

Our marriage situation should be alright, I am optimistic about the whole thing, someone has to be while he's all pessimistic that Australia will deny him for the silliest of reasons. From what I understand, he just needs the prospective marriage visa, wait for that to get approved, we get married and then apply for the permanent partner visa, and all should be swell......... it'll probably be a harder than that. But, I like to keep my fingers crossed. There is a very sensitive little boy involved, so, I need to hope it's that easy. :)

Sort:  

Oh he absolutely loved the Castle. He's British, so he has that dry, deprecatory humour. Oh my god, we loved Russell Coight! I'll never forget the sound of my boy's laughter (he's 21 now) at around 7 years old anticipating him sitting on the seat he'd made for himself, but the seat fell off meaning his ass went straight onto the spike. So funny.

Oh I hope it will be easy for you! There's always one in the relationship positive and one 'realistic' as Jamie likes to say. You need a marriage visa first? I guess it was different for us as we got married in England and I had a visa already due to Mum being English (it let me live and work there indefinitely). I'm sure it will be fine!

Oh maybe he will increase his chances of acceptance if he watches this series of videos

Haha! That's brilliant! :D He's back in the US at the moment, but I just sent him to the link to it. I'm sure he'll appreciate it when he wakes up in the morning. He's been watching our comedians and, uh, Houso's... much to my frequent cry of, "Nooooo!"

I love Russell Coight! And can't wait to introduce him to my son in a couple of years when he can appreciate it. I hope he'll have the same reaction as your boy did! Hehe!

We can get married at any time, but apparently they recommend against getting married on his tourist visas. We were informed (albeit by the American visa office, not Australian) that the paperwork may take longer to go through and they'll give us more hassles if we don't do things in the order they want... so better to be safe. Either way will cost the same. :) And I'm absolutely certain it will all go through swimmingly. Just need to convince the realist! ;) (He won't be convinced til he's allowed to live and work here.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69