Sort:  

Welcome @kaelci! Join the discord and get to know some of us. Lots of helpful people that are willing to help or just banter!

Hullo and thank you! :) Will try and hop on the Discord a bit later tonight :D

Nice to meet you. It's funny that we always think of ourselves as boring, but we're not from an outsiders perspective. I hear your pain about your husband - I've met heaps of cross country couples who struggle with the visa thing. I was lucky - my husband is English, and a male teacher, and was 32 when he applied and we were already married, so it seemed they just gave it to us straight away. Anyway, has your husband watched the Castle? My hubby just did after 15 years - i told him they wouldn't allow him citizenship if he didn't. We were camping in Mt Koziouskzo nat Park and some campers let off bangers and burnt around on dirt bikes and I was like 'how's the serenity' and he looked at me blankly - can't believe he hadn't watched it yet, but it's all been fixed as I made him watch it at home. Your book sounds interesting, will have to find some time to read your work!

Nice to meet you too! :D

No, he hasn't watched the Castle yet! It is definitely on my list of things to make him watch though. I need to find it somewhere, I used to have it on DVD but it seems to have mysteriously disappeared, and sadly it's not on Netflix.... that should really be rectified! That's hilarious with your husband looking at you blankly after that amazing quote, did he end up enjoying it? I've noticed that our humour can be considered weird when it comes to foreigners. I tried showing mine Russel Coight's All Aussie Adventures... didn't quite get the reaction I expected, haha!

Our marriage situation should be alright, I am optimistic about the whole thing, someone has to be while he's all pessimistic that Australia will deny him for the silliest of reasons. From what I understand, he just needs the prospective marriage visa, wait for that to get approved, we get married and then apply for the permanent partner visa, and all should be swell......... it'll probably be a harder than that. But, I like to keep my fingers crossed. There is a very sensitive little boy involved, so, I need to hope it's that easy. :)

Oh he absolutely loved the Castle. He's British, so he has that dry, deprecatory humour. Oh my god, we loved Russell Coight! I'll never forget the sound of my boy's laughter (he's 21 now) at around 7 years old anticipating him sitting on the seat he'd made for himself, but the seat fell off meaning his ass went straight onto the spike. So funny.

Oh I hope it will be easy for you! There's always one in the relationship positive and one 'realistic' as Jamie likes to say. You need a marriage visa first? I guess it was different for us as we got married in England and I had a visa already due to Mum being English (it let me live and work there indefinitely). I'm sure it will be fine!

Oh maybe he will increase his chances of acceptance if he watches this series of videos

Haha! That's brilliant! :D He's back in the US at the moment, but I just sent him to the link to it. I'm sure he'll appreciate it when he wakes up in the morning. He's been watching our comedians and, uh, Houso's... much to my frequent cry of, "Nooooo!"

I love Russell Coight! And can't wait to introduce him to my son in a couple of years when he can appreciate it. I hope he'll have the same reaction as your boy did! Hehe!

We can get married at any time, but apparently they recommend against getting married on his tourist visas. We were informed (albeit by the American visa office, not Australian) that the paperwork may take longer to go through and they'll give us more hassles if we don't do things in the order they want... so better to be safe. Either way will cost the same. :) And I'm absolutely certain it will all go through swimmingly. Just need to convince the realist! ;) (He won't be convinced til he's allowed to live and work here.)

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hellew fellow TeamAustralian. I'm a writer too and had to laugh at your comment about your life being boring. It made me think that on the outside a lot of writers' lives must seem boring, especially to the many peeps on Steemit who get out and about a lot and have a ton of photos and experiences to share. I am jealous that I'm not one of those people, haha :)

I do worry about that a bit. What if people get tired of reading about the stuff that's inside my head? Or the riffing and waffling on about something really mundane like the time I wrote an entire Facebook post about a doorknob?

But oh well. Takes all types. And I'm sure your life isn't anywhere near as boring as mine is :)

Hello fellow writer! :D
That's probably it, exactly; you see all these posts filled with photos of beaches, fun, excitement, steemians meeting one another! And then you're just left thinking, "Well, I cleaned the bathroom today." haha!

Did you really write an entire Facebook post about a doorknob?
I am oddly intrigued.

I did write an entire FB post about a doorknob! I wrote it up as if it was an exhibit at the Museum of Mundanity, I think I called it. I'm thinking of putting it on here and running with it as a series.

That is amazing! And I think making a series is a great idea. The Museum of Mundanity. Featuring the humble doorknob, Uncle Bernard's coffee-stained coaster, and the rusty cheese-grater Samantha threw out last week.

:D
(To be fair; all of those items would be considered a work of art these days, if what the internet leads me to believe is true. So maybe not so mundane.)

Haha, yeah - who knows what cruddy old thing we all think is really ugly and dumb will suddenly become really popular next and be selling for big bucks on eBay? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50