Is Steemit putting your safety at Risk?

ten-ways-for-privacy-protection-large.png
source
I'm not the most secretive person floating around here, but I do like to have some modesty and generally keep to myself in real life.

I'm not one to flash around expensive new cars, or watches or chat about how many shares I have in a particular company etc. But as Steemit evolves, the need to cover up is getting a bit more pertinent.

scheming-face.jpg
source

Personally I'm only a small fish so no ones really going to dream about robbing me, but other bigger players such as @ausbitbank, @aggroed and even a number of our bigger Team Australia peeps have balances on here that would cause a criminal to salivate.

I can most certainly understand the need for transparency, if we didn't, how would we know how to identify some of the reward pool rapists? But in all I think it'd make it a bit more of a fairer environment. The "richer" accounts wouldn't get hassled as much for upvotes as it wouldn't be easily visible, people would have to rely upon quality rather than sucking up to targeted accounts.

There's a call by @frystikken to make major changes to start protecting the steemit users.

So if you want changes to Steemit that protect its users, you should do the following:


1. First upvote and share this post. We have to spread the word and get more people talking about this
2. Write comments/posts to @ned and/or @sneak that we want this changed
3. Vote for @fyrst-witness, as he is a witness that cares about our privacy
4. Follow @fyrstikken and upvote his post here

gohba.handcrafts01.png
NOTE The list at the bottom here is borrowed from THIS article.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I honestly have no idea what the article is trying to say, so sorry.

I agree this is needed but I think some of these security worries and such should be placed on users. If keys, wallets, etc. are kept offline and only used from secure computers/access points everything is fine.

Also no matter what we do(short of hiding all post values and votes) it’ll still be easy to tell who has how much Steem. If I vote on a post my name pops up and the post value goes up $100 I’m a HUGE Steem holder. Further more with post value tracking, vote tracking, etc. a valuation can still be guessed at. The only real protection is to use the best security practices possible, encrypt drives and keep keys offline as much as possible.

We need the option to make wallet balance private for sure. Posted about this a while back and appreciate the fact others are posting the same thing. Not sure why wallet balance is even relevant.

Congratulations @gohba.handcrafts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

cryptocurrencies are largely about transparency, and steem is no different. It's up to people how much of their personal identity they reveal, and to understand the risks involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17