The I in Team - It has no place.

in #team6 years ago (edited)

podium-41242_640.png

When "I" comes before "Team", the Team comes second.


What a day!! We're at that part of the season where we need to get our team lists and registrations through for the beginning of the Winter basketball season. This is the season where players move from one age group to the next if they are old enough, and there is a lot of jostling for positions going on. This is when you see who is interested in their team's success versus those who are only interested in themselves.

One thing I try to emphasize with my coaching is to try to put the team first, and see what you can do (or not do) to contribute towards making the team stronger and more successful.

For this next season, I decided that we need to go from having 7 players to 8. The reasoning behind this was to give our team extra strength by brining in another good player, and also having insurance against being short of players should someone not be available to play for whatever reason. This season just gone, with 7 players, I found myself fielding a team of 4 or 5 for a game a few times. That made us far less competitive, and cost us enough games to miss playing finals by 1 point. 1 point!!! If only we had that 1 extra player. We're not going through that again. Not on my watch!

If you're watching the clock, you're not in the game



Unfortunately having an extra player has a cost. If we're trying to give everyone equal court time, each player will be playing about 3.5 minutes less per game. BUT!!! That surely means extra rest should allow us to play at a much higher intensity for longer, and be even more competitive right? Apparently not for one of my players. Losing 3 minutes of game time meant that he has decided to leave the team. It seems to him it is more important to have court time than it is for the team to be successful, and have a good chance of making finals, and playing more games... which means more court time! Go figure that one out. A short term gain at the cost of possible 2 whole extra games for the team to play! That is how the I in Team works.... It simply doesn't! If you're more interested in your court time, you're not in it for the team!

I know we're going to be a very strong team this coming season, and have picked up a few really good players. We'll just be missing the one "I" we had. Hopefully we didn't pick up another one!

Teamwork people! Teamwork!! The team makes the player; the player doesn't make the team.

Have a great weekend!





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

I’d never have thought I’d read about basketball or the dilemmas of a basketball coach on steemit. :) I had actually thought I’d be reading about a corporate scenario! Anyway, I enjoyed both the subject matter and your example.

I was taught very early on in my career when I was a fresh graduate working in a Software Engineering firm to appreciate the power of ‘Team’. Thanks to this manager, it’s stuck with me my whole career. However, I’d never played team sports outside of school or voluntarily. If I’d learnt it at a younger age, it would have been nothing but good for my development. So it’s a shame this player couldn’t see the long term benefits teamwork.

Thanks for sharing!

There are all sorts of surprises here when it comes tonsubject matter... and so much knowledge and isight to be gained everywhere.

I suppose my dilemmas as a basketball coach are translatable to a corporate environment as well.

Hopefully one day the player will see the benefit of teamwork and find success in the process.

Thanks for stopping by!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Losing that player might be a blessing in disguise. Best of luck with the new season. I think you're building the right sort of team-first culture to be successful.

I do think it will work out for the best. Thanks for your kind words mate!

Sounds like you're the right kind of coach/team manager!

goatsig

Thanks @ryivhnn. I do my best to do the right thing by the team. I make lots of mistakes, but hopefully don't make the same one too often.

I was gonna say mistakes are fine, making the same mistakes not so much XD

goatsig

Try Our Service Befre Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here :
    JOIN NOW CLICK HERE / http://nullrefer.com/?http://steemupper.ga

Congratulations @bmj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50