Learning Spanish 101 with @sgnsteems - Lesson 2

in #teaching7 years ago (edited)

spanish.png

Have you ever thought about learning Spanish but never have? Now is your chance to learn some basic Spanish!

Hola amigo ¿Cómo está? I got an idea yesterday after not knowing which post to write first. I would have basic Spanish "lessons" and share them with the community. I got some positive feedback on it, so would like to make this part of my weekly posting. I might post once a week, but do not know which day yet. Also, please note I am not a teacher, so do not have "lesson plans" laying around nor am I getting this from any site. All you find on my posts are words which I think are important or which you may find interesting. Or that you want me to teach you :)

divider-2154993_640.png

You might see my posts changing and get more format. I am trying to learn more about Markdown and make it more visible and more pleasing to the eye. If you have more formatting tips, I will gladly take them and add them to my posts :)
-I am still trying to learn to put a few pictures together not in the same line, but side by side-

Now, let's focus and learn some Spanish!

spanish.png

divider-2154993_640.png

pets.jpg

petlove.png

Pets

EnglishSpanish
dogperro
catgato
fishpez
turtletortuga
rabbitconejo
birdpájaro

farmanimals.jpg

Farm animals

EnglishSpanish
horsecaballo
cowvaca
pigcerdo
sheepoveja
chickenpollo OR gallina
duckpato
donkeyburro
chickengallina

divider-2154993_640.png

manners.jpg

image source

Manners

EnglishSpanish
PleasePor favor
Thank youGracias
Excuse meDisculpe OR Perdón
May I ?¿Podría?

gracias.jpg

image source

gracias.gif

Gracias to everyone for following Spanish 101 in @sgnsteem's class LOL. A special Gracias to @merej99 for teaching me about gifs. I love them! :)

divider-2154993_640.png

What would you like to learn in Spanish? Any specific words, themes or subjects? Leave in the comment below. I might use your words next time on my posts. =0)

¡Hasta luego!

All pictures used are from pixabay, unless noted

Sort:  

This is very cool !!! I would love to learn Spanish !!! And will be staying tuned in to try and learn more , hope its not to much at once though , I have a bad memory LOL getting old haha !😂😂😂
💙 I would love like one new word with the meaning per day , Mabe added to the bottom of your post Like ( Today's Spanish word of the day is ????? just an idea ! Thanks for the great list of words ! And still do your once a week post like this one !! That way every day those who want to learn will read your post every day and get a new Spanish word at the same time , making it easier to learn and remember !! Thanks for sharing , good luck !! 👍👍👍💙💙💙

Thank you for that great comment @karenmckersie!

Word of the day? I like that idea! Thank you!!! :)

oh your welcome , glad you liked my suggestion !! 👍👍👍

Yes I did allthough i didnt use it on my first birthday post :)

OK well that's cool !! 👍👍👍

I am familiar with many Spanish words we use it normally without knowing it. Now I know now what is the meaning of Obeja, it is used here in my country to call some kind of bad woman a "Beja" LOL.

Oveja, yes is sheep. @cryptopie is "beja" in your country something like "witch" or something like that? That is interesting..thanks for sharing!

Aha! That's it, that's the meaning I am searching for since it is used for a bad woman LOL.
Now I know, thank you for the support. @sgnsteems

We also call a cow "Baka", I never knew that it was a spanish name.
And the duck "Pato" but a white duck as "Bibe"

That is interesting! a white duck, like a swan? in spanish is Cisne.

Ok, so i won't say the word similiar to sheep in your country! LOL

hey mattie :)

geresteemd

Hallo vriend! Erg bedankt voor de resteem ;)

amiga komt een dag dan kan ik ook Spaans.

Ja dit helpt jou ook natuurlijk :)

Spanish really has great influence to us Filipinos - architecture, religion, food and a lot more. Even our family names are highly spanish. The influence is also of course great on the language - I can see a lot of common words. There was even a time when Spanish language was a mandatory subject in college.

"Kumusta", how are you? A spin off from "como esta?"
"kabayo" horse
"pato" duck
"burito" donkey
"kuneho" rabbit
"baka" cow

definitely a long way to go before I can get conversant, but who knows, if not me then my kids?! 😅😊

Hi @arrliinn. That is amazingly close to Spanish indeed! is the H pronunciation as a Spanish J?...I cans ee Filipino language uses a lot of K. Is Spanish no longer mandatory?

I actually have a good friend in Spain who is from the Philipines.

We all have to start somewhere...then we put words together, then we have sentences...so we can all learn! Thanks for your great comment!

Hi @sgnsteems! Yes, some words with J are pronounced with H. Actually, we have lots of "borrowed" words from American English and Spanish as they do not have direct filipino translation. We just change some letters into Filipino alphabet
Cake = "keyk"
Computer = "kompyuter"
or sometime not at all.

They removed the Spanish subject from the curriculum many years ago.

That is very interesting that you borrow words. 😊

Yes. We have been colonized by spain and america for a long time hence the influence. See, for "table" we easily say "lamesa" instead of the correct Fulipino term "hapag kainan" .
For "chair" we normally say "silya" instead of "upuan"... 😉😅

Lamesa? Instead of mesa? Interesting! La mesa means actually "the table". Chair is silla in spanish. That is great! I never knew they were so similar. I really want to visit the Philippines... one day!! 😊

Yes, please do. There are lots of interesting places in PH i am sure you will enjoy. The beaches are magnificent!

Great job! I just noticed that pez means fish. So... all these years of loving PEZ dispensers and candy, it was fish all along??? I wonder if PEZ is popular in native Spanish speaking countries?
pez.jpg

Lol! Yes we have these too and I am not sure why they are called PEZ. But see, now you know the meaning! Lol thanks for making me do better and push myself. 👍

~sonrisas para millas~

Hola @sgnsteems o/

Hola @cryptologyx! Si muchas sonrisas 😊😊

this is cool ,a video will be nice too. I have heard knowing spanish is very convenient when u travel to south america, so I am thinking to learn a bit before I go in the future. :)

I have never done video @aburmeseabroad, but might think of doing that in the future! Yes it is very useful in Latin America and Spain. Thank you for your comment :)

We have lots of conejitos (is that right?) running around our yard this time of year! It might be fun to start teaching my little man some of these words and see what he does with them!

You are right @thesimplelife! :) conejitos :) It would be great to teach them early! Great thinking :)

Thanks for the fact checking!!

Maybe I should have said gracias, maestra!

De nada, alumna (student) :)

You are welcome! :)

Chicken is pollo, not gallina. Gallina stands for "hen". Please check on how accurate the info is before calling it a lesson @sgnsteems. That is a huge mistake there.

Chicken can actually be both pollo and gallina

chicken SUSTANTIVO

  1. (animal)
    a. el pollo (m)
    They had chickens at the farm.Tenían pollos en la granja.
    b. la gallina (f)
    The chickens were incubating their eggs.Las gallinas estaban empollando sus huevos.
    source

I appreciate the comment @danilamarilu, but please also check before saying it'a huge mistake. I will add pollo above. Thanks!

Edit: hen can be used for gallina, as well as chicken.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51