You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How US Tax Treatment of Cryptocurrencies Helps the STEEM Ecosystem

in #tax7 years ago

First, your article series on this important topic of taxation of virtual currencies are excellent. I appreciate you sharing this information!
A few questions related to the exchange of one virtual currency for another, and whether it is considered a 1031 like kind exchange:

  1. Say I hold 10 BTC in some exchange E1. I want to invest in an ICO and send 2 BTC to the ICO. At a later date the ICO sends me 5000 of their ABC token in return for my ICO investment. Is this considered a 1031 like kind exchange or triggers a tax event?
  2. I have 10 BTC in exchange E1. I would like to exchange 2 BTC with another virtual currency DEF but E1 doesn't support it. I transfer 2 BTC to exchange E2, and there perform the exchange of the 2 BTC to 20 DEF. Is this considered a 1031 like kind exchange or triggers a tax event?
  3. Could you elaborate on how the tax basis is computed if indeed the exchange is considered a like kind one? Say at date d1 I bought 10 BTC for $10000. At date d2 I exchanged 10 BTC for 40 ETH, and at that date the closing rate of 1 BTC was $10 (total worth is now $100). At date d3, I sold my 40 ETH for $15000 total. How is this handled? Do we (a) simply assume cost basis of $10000 (d1) at the date of sale (d3), and therefore compute $15000 minus $10000 = $5000 as the taxable income; or, do we (b) compute what should have been our tax liability at d2 ($100 minus $10000 = loss of $9900), then at d3 capital gain of $15000 minus $100 = $14900, and then pay the tax on $14900 while deducting over time the maximum loss allowed per year?
  4. Say we have a case that satisfies the requirements for a like kind exchange such as the one you describe in your article (exchange X BTC for Y STEEM). Am I permitted, if I so choose, to actually treat it as a tax event, compute the new cost basis, and pay taxes as needed in that tax year? Perhaps if the case is a bit vague and I prefer to be on the safe side, can I simply choose to treat it as a tax event?

Many thanks for your insights!

Sort:  

@swansong thanks for your interest in my US Tax Considerations series. I appreciate those who read and comment on my posts.

The response to your question will be answered better with a formal blog post, than a comment thread. I will feature this question on a future US Tax Considerations piece in the next two weeks, because it touches on a number of topics (taxing digital currency as a property, barter rules when trading property with other property and capital gain deferral rules of 1031 like kind property exchanges) which I do not thing a reply in a comment thread will do justice to.

Excellent! I'll be looking forward to reading that article.
In the meanwhile, I have a few additional tax-related questions. I'll post those in the most appropriate articles, and hopefully others will find the discussions around those beneficial.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59