Are Tattoos Sinful?

in #tattoos6 years ago (edited)

tatts.jpg
It depends.

This post is targeted to both christians and non-christians. I really don't want to talk about this in this internet world because a lot of people gets upset and they just can't hep but react naturally. However, I hope that those who read this is gonna have an open mind regarding this topic.

This has caused big debates around the christian and non-christian community for a while now. So as someone who have studied the Bible, I want to give my own opinion regarding this matter. Again, let us have an open understanding to one another as we have different perspectives in things like this.

It may be a little bit bias because I got some ink (just kidding). Though I prayed a lot before I got inked. We will base everything in from the scriptures and see what God has to say about this.

So, a lot of people would slap some classic scriptures to me like in Leviticus 19:28. Out of context, it goes like this, "You shall not make any cuts on your body for the dead or tattoo yourselves for I am the LORD."

Now, if you read that out of context, bam! Missed it! But in context which is so important when you're reading the scriptures because it's a little different . Now as I was saying, in context, if you read the whole chapter, God is basically giving moral standards to the Israelites by that time. If you're the person telling me that Tattoos are sinful, you also have to live up to the rest of the verses 'cause why not? Some of the verses that come before this says, "You shall not eat any flesh with blood in it" and "when you come into the land and plant any fruit, you have to regard it's fruit as forbidden for 3 years." So, if you tell me that tattoos are sinful based on Leviticus 19, I hope that you also don't eat any kind of meat because all meat has some form of blood in it, whether it's dried blood of if it's rare meat, it's totally a normal blood. Also, I hope you don't eat any fruit or vegetable that hasn't been cultivated for at least 3 years and hopefully, you don't have any sort of piercing because that is a way of cutting your flesh.

So, we may ask ourselves, "Why do we those then? Have we committed a sin?". NO. In this time that God was giving instructions to the Israelites, they didn't have pesticides, nor refrigerators. So basically, this was an instruction of wisdom. Going back to the verse, "You shall not make any cuts on your body for the dead or tattoo yourselves for I am the LORD." Let me emphasize the phrase "FOR THE DEAD". So as long as you don't tattoo yourself as a form of worshiping the dead, you're cool.

Also, think about the tattoo you wan't and something that will remind you of something important. I got this tattoo on my leg which reminds me that I am forgiven.
29214108_1592129590842360_4488033227075747840_n.jpg

So to wrap things up, it all depends on the reason why you tattooed yourself, if you see it as a form of art, you don't have anything to worry about.

If you have other questions or clarifications, let me know so that I can discuss about it. Have a great day!

Sort:  

For those of you who wants an issue or a question answered, let me know so that I can research and learn through things properly. Thank you for your support and hoping to receive good feedback!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78