Otto's Bierhalle - A Zeke Tasteem review!

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


text16.png

I know...I had you at Bier. Well they had me there as well but I was in the mood for food so there better be some good stuff if you want to get a good Zeke Review on @tasteem. Also, my friend @detlev would love this place and I will include it in his #beersaturday movement!

This visit happened on the fated LANfest weekend a couple weeks back where a good group of us hunkered down in front of our computers for 48 hours of debauchery. We did have to awaken from the lair occasionally for sustenance and our host had this place picked out as perfect.

text16.png

Otto's Bierhalle

IMG_5499.jpg

https://www.ottosbierhalle.com/ This place lives in one very classic building in a part of town that used to be the banking district. Despite its appearance in my picture, it very much stands up straight and tall.

IMG_5497.jpg

text16.png

Can I start you smelly buggers off with a drink?

IMG_5492.jpg

You must have read our minds! Not that we didn't have gallons of hoppy goodness back at the house, but you really have to try something different and fabulous when given the opportunity.

IMG_5491.jpg

I opted to return to the IPA train (I had a quick stop on the Stout express the day before at Death and Taxes if you recall https://steemit.com/tasteem/@zekepickleman/tasteem-6070f0 ) My selection was the Rorshach Reverie which is a Triple dry-hopped, fruited IPA modeled after a cream-sicle. That is a mouthful to say and even more of one to drink. So tasty and sweet and it had a touch of citrus though not really orange. I get a little annoyed when they serve them in the smaller glasses and charge for what seems like a pint. Then I look at the 8.4% Alcohol Per Volume and I think smaller glasses are alright.

IMG_5490.jpg

As with many beer halls, there was a nice-sized selection of bottles and cans which are so much easier to source than the kegs. Some cocktails and wine but this crew were really having none of that.

text16.png

Brunch

IMG_5489.jpg

The brunch menu was almost as much of an adventure as the beer menu was. The mains ranged from standard popular breakfasts and quickly slid over to German persuasion.

The Feasts section was rather unique. Meant to feed up to 3, they are a large assortment of breakfast, schnitzel, salad and assorted sides mixed into 1. I will let you go through them individually if you care to but The Full Otto (monty?,) the Brotzeit Breakfast, Schnitzel and Waffles and the Neukolln are such tantalizing titles with lots of variety. Perhaps some of my German friends can help with a translation?

IMG_5495.jpg

I went for the simple Schnitzel and Waffles (not the 3-person feast) and it arrived on a kitchy metal tray as all the meals did. Normally, I would go for the traditional pork schnitzel but was presented with the opportunity to try something new in the Halloumi. This is a rather unique cheese which has a higher melting point which makes it perfect for the schnitzel high-temperature cooking https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloumi

Very tasty indeed! Aren't you proud of me for snapping a pic before I started eating? I may be getting better at this!

text16.png

Parting Thoughts

IMG_5493.jpg

As I enjoyed my second Rorshach, I took some time to look around. Such a neat place, very unique with good different food, happy hipsters and amazing beer. I will make it back here again for sure. It is one of those places that you like to keep on your list when someone asks you for ideas where to go for a meal or a drink. Buys you plenty of cool kid cred and will be delicious when you go!

IMG_5497.jpg

text16.png

Please consider submitting your own @tasteem review to leverage another great DAPP on the STEEM blockchain!

Also, @tasteem, can you consider changing or adding to your ranks? A place to visit daily isn't even realistic unless it is your coffee place, I tell my friends about ever place I go on tasteem.io, and if it was a real gem, I would not want to keep it a secret. Let's create a poll from kingpin tasteemers like @slobberchops and my other friends and come up with some better ones!


Restaurant Information


Otto's Bierhalle
score
1087 Queen St W, Toronto, ON M6J 1H3, Canada


Otto's Bierhalle - A Zeke Tasteem review!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

text16.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Good Tasteemer is always take a picture before to start eat n drink. 😁

Great review.

Regards,
PowerHouseCreatives Member

#tasteem-curation

Yes indeed. The first couple reviews, I forgot to take the pic before I had a bite. Practice practice!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, you have found beer heaven. This is a place I would definitely love to visit. I know what you mean about holding a place like this in reserve for when you want to take people somewhere different and a little special. And the food sounds wonderful. I don't know all that much about German food but it seems like very substantial food, and that's right up my alley. It does seem a little expensive, have to sip on that beer I think.

It really is good and one of those places that makes it easy to try new foods that are exotic to you. The Germans do like their substantial food and their beer.

Posted using Partiko iOS

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Thanks for sharing us this great review! One thing that I love about tasteem is that it made me become an adventurous foodie in our place. Trying out different kind of restaurants. But my problem sometimes is that I forgot to take photos before eating hahaha and I'm a little shy if we're in big groups. Anyway, Have a great week ahead!

That looks like a fun place!

I have to laugh at your thoughts on the ranks. I am about to do my second review here and must agree with your thoughts. I am perplexed to say the least. But this is sure a wonderful dapp, and I am so glad I stumbled in :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54