You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stotts Craft Bakery – A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

Looks like a great little business, our local bakery also looks a little run down from the outside but produces top class product. I don't use it enough, that's next on the list now I've got into the swing of using the local butcher and fish mongers.

Thinking back I din't think I've every eaten a meat pie that hasn't come from the supermarket; I exclude the odd pie my mum has made in the past.

Sort:  

There are several more local bakeries that sell pies. Some have more than once branch so technically could be named a chain. However they are local to the area so not in the same scale as 'Greggs'.

You should try them. I'm not a big fan of the chains that are taking over our country.

I agree with you about the chains, but Greggs does have a special place in my heart. They are always warm and friendly with reasonable prices. I like a steak slice as a treat now and then, but I leave the chicken katsu abomination well alone.

I like Greggs too, it was more of a blanket statement really about the state of 'clone towns'. I haven't tried the chicken katsu LOL, but thanks for the warning.

This review of them is very funny.

I was reading about the lost art of home made pie making yesterday. They used to be a staple when I was growing up - sweet and savoury - good way of getting some extra calories into a large family and I love the taste of crumbly shortcrust pastry.

I've always been scared of pies that aren't topped with mashed veggies of some kind...interesting that I'd call them a pie ... is cottage pie technically a pie?

I've always been scared of pastry for some reason. Should really just give it a go.

Pastry is easy (although I learned how to do it when I was about seven or eight, so I'm probably biased), you just need a light touch - the complete opposite to making bread - keep everything very cool and don't use too much water. Here's my post about making pastry and crumble.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57