British Icons - Pie or Crumble?

in #food6 years ago

In the old days, dinner was in the middle of the day and had two courses, meat and two veg followed by pie or crumble and custard.

image.jpg
My neighbour gave me some rhubarb yesterday, enough for a pie and a crumble.

With a large family and before central heating, pastry and crumble provided some cheap extra calories to add to seasonal fruit. All through the long winter it would be apple pie and apple crumble, but you knew Spring was on the way when the first long slim pink stems of rhubarb appeared in the shops.

One of the first things you learned in domestic science (cookery) at school was the rubbed in method. This was a way of combining fat and flour and formed the basis for pastry, crumbles and plain family cakes like raspberry buns. I learned how to make these at home, alongside my mum and great aunt, using spoons for measuring. It was only later at school that scales came into it.

The main measure was a tablespoon (about 15ml). A level tablespoon meant the bowl of the spoon was full. A rounded tablespoon meant there was about the same amount on top of the spoon as in the bowl, and a heaped tablespoon meant there was about twice as much on top of the spoon.

You needed different measures for flour (a heaped tablespoon) and sugar (a rounded tablespoon) - roughly equivalent to an ounce (about 28g).

The fat was important and could make or break your pastry. We used lard and Stork margarine then - half of each. The lard made the pastry soft, crisp and light. I usually use unsalted butter now, but that was considered luxury then. It was easy to measure the fat, it was sold in 8oz packs, so you used a whole or a half or a quarter of a pack.

You could use self-raising or plain flour and add baking powder. McDougall's was a popular brand and then ready-sifted Homepride came along. A pinch of salt was an important addition, even in sweet things. For everyday, we used white, granulated sugar. That's all you need for crumble, plus water for the pastry.

Crumble and pastry recipes are based on a ratio of half fat to flour.

Crumble Recipe

8 heaped tablespoons of plain or self-raising flour
Quarter pack of lard
Quarter pack of Stork margarine
4 rounded tablespoons of sugar (or to taste, I usually use half this amount nowadays).

Rubbed-In Method

The fat needs to be very cold.
Measure the flour into a large mixing bowl.
Chop the fat into small pieces and add to the flour.
Using the ends of your fingers and thumbs, start to combine the fat with the flour by rubbing them between your fingers and thumbs. You want to work quickly, with a light touch, so the fat doesn't melt. When the mixture resembles breadcrumbs, add the sugar. You can add other flavourings - I like ginger and lemon zest.


Here's a demonstration of the rubbed-in method.

To Make Your Crumble

Put 2lbs (900g) prepared seasonal fruit in a 3 pint (1.5l) pie dish, sprinkle on a little sugar if the fruit is a little tart, cover with the crumble mixture and bake in a pre-heated moderate oven (gas mark 4/350F/180C) for 35-40 minutes (check after 30 minutes). Serve with custard, evaporated milk, cream or ice cream. Divine.

To Make Pastry

After rubbing in the fat and flour, add a little cold water (there is no sugar in everyday pastry). The rough measurement is one dessertspoon (10ml) for each tablespoon of flour, but you want the least amount of water possible, otherwise the pastry will be hard and tough. Add five dessertspoons of cold water, and bring the mixture together until it forms a ball, add more water if necessary. Work quickly and lightly, without kneading the dough.

Turn out onto a floured board or work top and, with a floured rolling pin, roll lightly and quickly until the pastry is slightly larger than the size and shape of your pie dish. Gather the pastry over the rolling pin and lay it on top of the pie dish. With a knife, trim the excess pastry from the edge, then seal and crimp the edge. Make a slit in the centre with a knife to allow steam to escape and sprinkle some caster sugar over the pastry to finish.

Bake in a pre-heated moderate oven (gas mark 5/375F/190C) for about 25-30 minutes (check after 20 minutes).


A lovely video demonstrating how to shape your pastry and place it on your pie dish.

Personally, I like my pastry top quite thick on a fruit pie and I don't bother with a bottom layer. This recipe is for shortcrust pastry. To get a very light, short (crumbly) pastry, use enough fat, not too much water, and work quickly and lightly. The amount of fat and water will vary depending on the flour you use. Some flours need more or less, depending on the grain, how old the flour is and how much humidity is in the atmosphere - so you may need to experiment.


This final video gives some ideas for crimping pastry - I use a variation of the forked version.

Sort:  

Lol....so many memories. The first thing I also learned in Domestic Science was rubbing in...it may probably not suprise you that I used to hate the feel of the flour and grease on my hands!
My mum also uses Stork, or hard marg and lard, but like you these days I use butter for crumble, I also stir in a half teaspoon of demerara sugar loosely at the end.
My favourire is always apple pie and crumble, apples were always plentiful from the orchard on my grandparents farm, but later it was blackberry and apple, even raspberries. I actually hate rhubarb, I also just dug up the rhubarb at my Mums as it was getting out of hand and I needed to make the garden more maneagble now.
Of course, Im from just a couple of miles from the rhubarb triangle !
The thing about dinner drives me wife insane, she is possible as insane as I, we call it dinner still up North and my wife gets all confused and asks what time we're eating to get it straight in her head!
What a great post, but no mention of debate over whether its OK to have crumble with ice cream, or should it always be custard ?

I appreciate the grease and flour experience - I get that sensation when I pick up dusty books in bookshops. Would it be wrong to carry a little duster with me?
Good Demerara sugar tip, crumble offers infinite variety 😍
I like my dinner at midday, sitting down properly at the table with a tablecloth and place settings. My grandparents used to have three cooked meals a day: breakfast, dinner at one o clock and another cooked meal - maybe a little fish someone had brought round (they lived by the sea) - at 5pm (and supper, probably a bit of cold pie, at 8pm). My grandad drove a drey for Shepherd Neame, horse-drawn when I was young, and would leave it outside while he ate his dinner.
Ah, the icecream vs. custard debate. There's also cream and evaporated milk to consider. Worthy of a post in their own right, I think. Perhaps I could get a tasting panel together.

I will be keeping this post safe for reference @shanibeer.
Thank you !
I'm not a good cook or baker, but I'm hoping to be inundated with apples at some point 😆 so apple pie and crumble recipes + tutorial videos will be ideal for reminders / techniques.

Crumble is very easy. You can make a large batch and keep it in the freezer, and just take out enough for one crumble when you need it. Pastry is a little more complicated, but worth practicing as good pastry is delicious! I guess the autumn must be a busy time?

I'm a bit of a sucker for crumble, it is a very british thing. Baking it is a whole different story though, Ill leave that to my mum!

Yes, I love a crumble, but I hardly ever make it now. These are two really simple dishes that a good family cook will knock up in no time, but I realised, as I was writing the post, that there is loads of embedded knowledge that you just pass on by word of mouth. Pastry, especially, is simple ... when you know how.

Huh! I never heard of the rubbing in method. I always cut in the butter or coconut oil and then mush it all together with my hands. This looks way easier!

It might be a British thing - it looks like we all learned it at school ...

2 of my favouite dishes...you have made me want to make them for dinner tonight! I think I will make a chicken and mushroom pie with a cherry crumble!

Sounds delicious - I love chicken and mushroom pie. I've not had cherry crumble, but I'm sure I'd enjoy it with ice-cream!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60814.66
ETH 2400.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60