Trixie - A Bit of Americana deep in South America

in #tasteem4 years ago (edited)

title_image

You know you have struck gold as soon as you walk in.

Right near the river park

sandwiched between Golf, Karting and Fishing places, there is a fifties style diner called Trixie.

burger.jpeg

This place, they tell me, is a weekend hang-out that really hops as a nightlife hot spot, but I am a big fan for many other reasons.

Trixie burgers are as good as my home made ones, the pickles don't taste like rubbing alcohol, the kitchen is open all day and breakfast is served whenever you want it.

threecarts.jpeg

We did an all day 'Karting' fest Wednesday and our debrief went down over burgers and milkshakes at Trixie.

There were others there who were going over their track times and wipe outs.

wide front.jpeg

Every time I head north, I end up at Trixie for some real American food.

The menu

menu1.jpeg

menu2.jpeg

menu3.jpeg

I had the big breakfast at first. If you want syrup with you pancakes though, you will have to bring your own. People here see what looks like honey on American movies, so that is what they serve when trying to imitate it.

Then after running laps with my kids, just across the street, we came back to Trixie and had burgers. The coleslaw is exactly what I remember from my home town. Best I have found since living here in Buenos Aires.

jukecorner.jpeg

We sat at the bar and listened to the juke box as we ate. We were the only ones crazy enough to be eating at six o'clock in the evening. Most kitchens are closed and will not serving dinner until I am at home getting ready for bed. Refer back to my list of reasons why I like this place.

There I am

Reflected in the corner chrome. I am not much for appearing on Steemit, but you get me twice in this post.

boothcorner.jpeg

From the salt shakers to the sugar jar, the place is a slice of my home in the U.S.

The tile, table posts, blinds, counter tops and uniforms all take me back to Chicago though this could be any diner in the States if you think about it.

sideroom.jpeg

There is also a gift shop at the far end of the bar and outdoor dining is available when the weather is not too hot or windy.

The waitresses all speak English. Pointing and tapping pictures will not be necessary if you have not learned Spanish yet.

Thanks for joining me at one of my home away from home favorites!

All photos herein are my own taken by me. Karts photo taken by the man with the checkered flag.

sponge bob.jpg


Restaurant Information


Trixie American Diner
score
Buenos Aires, Argentina


Trixie - A Bit of Americana deep in South America
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Great interface for posting @tasteem - I love the side by side WYSIWYG! I will pull the animated GIF - it does not look like it worked. The map does not show my selected location for Trixie either. Just in case - here it is again...
Screenshot-2020-1-24 Google Maps.png

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @sponge-bob, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Nice place. Tengo que ir a visitarlo

Yes. It is right across the street from the Karting place!

Looks a super cool place to visit wow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50