The Sheep Heid Inn, Duddingston, Edinburgh

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Last Saturday I went to Edinburgh for a special Christmas outing with a scrambling group I'm a member of. We climbed Arthur's Seat, a hill of just 251m high – but we climbed up via a scrambly route known as the "Gutted Haddie".
Having built up good appetites doing the steep scramble in the fresh and very chilly air, we strolled back down the hill to Duddingston, an area at the foot of Arthur's Seat, to have lunch in the Sheep Heid Inn, a very old pub.

36 Window, Sheep Heid.jpg

The Sheep Heid dates back to 1360, and is Scotland's oldest surviving public house. The furniture has an antique feel, although the establishment is very warm and comfortable, with modern facilities.

28 Old wooden chair in Sheep Heid.jpg

The bar serves a wide range of beers, real ales and malt whiskies - in fact the drinks menu, which can be seen on the table in the above photo, is a booklet.

29 Sheep Heid bar.jpg

There were many wines on the drinks menu, however I felt the descriptions of the wines were not very enticing, with too many of them described as "easy drinking". I really wanted to know how dry or full-bodied they were.
I decided to order a half pint of Guinness instead.

35 Guinness, Sheep Heid.jpg

Our group arrived at 12 noon, which is when they start serving food. We were given lunch menus, which offered a wide choice of gastropub-style fare – not the cheapest type of food, but it looked like quality.

Menus.jpg

I decided to go for the Lobster & Devon Crab Fishcakes accompanied by asparagus, pea & truffle oil veloute and topped with crispy seaweed, at £12.95. It tasted very good, though I would have preferred the single asparagus to have been lightly cooked instead of raw and crunchy.
The veloute dressing was delicious, although there wasn't quite enough seaweed.

Fishcakes.jpg

Although there were 11 in our group, I decided to only describe the meals of the four people at my table: Malcolm, Mike and Nicky.
Malcolm chose Crispy BBQ Chicken, which was described as "Panko-coated" and "topped with Korean-style BBQ sauce". It was served with carrot, mooli, cucumber and chips (fries).

38 BBQ Chicken.jpg

Malcolm very much enjoyed his meal. He had the two-course lunchtime fixed price special, for a total of £11.95, which included Soup of the Day as a starter.

Mike ordered Battered Halloumi. It was served with "twice-cooked" chunky chips, which he said were absolutely delicious, as well as minted pea purée and tartare sauce.

37 Beer battered Halloumi.jpg

Mike enjoyed the halloumi (which is a kind of hard cheese) but he said there was too much batter. He also went for the fixed price special at £11.95, including the soup.

Nicky had the King Prawn, Crab and Chorizo Linguine, which was made with a white wine, tomato, garlic & chilli sauce, for £13.95. She said it tasted delicious, but much more filling than she'd expected.

39 Linguine (Nicky).jpg

The other seven people in our group said they also enjoyed their meals.

This is clearly a popular weekend lunch venue, as the tables filled up very quickly. The service was very good, and despite the number of diners, the staff were very friendly and polite, and we didn't get the feeling of being rushed.

There is more seating upstairs, which is probably used for special functions or at busy times, and there is also a beer garden outside.

31 Sheep Heid beer garden.jpg

One thing I loved about this pub is that it's a mile or two away from the city centre, in a very pleasant, quiet area. I will definitely visit the Sheep Heid again, for a special meal out, or just for a drink or a coffee after climbing Arthur's Seat or sightseeing.

Opening hours:

11am to 11pm, Monday to Thursday
11am to midnight Friday to Saturday
12.30pm to 11pm Sunday
Food available: 12pm to 10pm Monday to Saturday
12.30pm to 9.30pm Sunday

Location:

43-45 The Causeway, Duddingston, Edinburgh, EH15 3QA.


Restaurant Information


Sheep Heid Inn
score
The Causeway, Edinburgh EH15, UK


The Sheep Heid Inn, Duddingston, Edinburgh
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Such a homely old inn, I wonder if @fiftysixnorth has ever been to visit as I know this is his area.

The food looks delicious, and very well presented - nowadays so many places offer bland off the freezer to the microwave fare that might be consistent but less then inspiring - it's good to know we still have thriving traditional public houses making memories - and that's what is important.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

It's quite a well-known pub I think, being the oldest in Scotland, though I hadn't been there before. And they certainly have a good chef! It is great to see places like this thriving.

Ah.. much better!

Nice review! Although, I would have to say that the name of the place is pretty weird for a non-Scottish person... I have no idea what a Heid is! Is it head?

Anyway, the dishes and the pub look great... I loooooovvvvvveeeee Haloumi! Although, I don't batter it... just pan fried with lemon and seasoned... speaking of which, I'm going to buy some tomorrow when I go shopping!

Thanks @bengy. Yes, "heid" is local dialect for "head". If you visit Edinburgh I would recommend this place - it has a lot of old world atmosphere, but the food and drink are great. I like Haloumi too, but it is quite high in fat, so to pair it with a fatty batter seems a bit too much. I really enjoyed my dish though.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @natubat, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

I love the tartan cushions! The food looks delicious and imaginative. I would have had the pork belly and seared scallops 😊. I know what you mean about the wine. I would prefer a smaller selection of wines with good descriptions. I always ask the staff for their recommendations ... but Guinness is a good choice, I reckon, especially with the meal you chose. Did anyone have a pudding? I'd like to know what they were like.

Actually no one had a pudding - not even me, which is unusual! I think it was a bit too early in the day. The Guinness was perfect after a walk.
If I had chosen a pud, it would have been the Sticky Toffee :)

What! No pudding!!?? It's never too early for pudding, it's the main course for me 😋

Haha yes! I'll go back sometime for pudding :)

A good hike sure makes ones appetite strong and this look such a charming place to head to after a hike and the food looks great

The food was fantastic! Definitely a place to head to if you visit Edinburgh.

I have visited there two or three times but doubt I will makeit there again so I will enjoy it through your post instead :)

Hi, @natubat

Congratulation for a great your first review on Tasteem. Welcome on board. :)

Please join on Tasteem Discord: https://discord.gg/SZvH5bA

Thanks @anggreklestari! Looking forward to doing more. And I've joined the Discord server :)

A lot of Charm and Character, but is it HAUNTED?
I'd love to tour haunted destinations should I find myself traveling.

I've no idea if it's haunted - I have to say I didn't sense any ghostly vibes, but maybe if you went there late at night...
Edinburgh is full of tales of hauntings. It's probably good ghost-hunting territory :)

Welcome to Tasteem Global, nice to have you here!

Thank you for sharing your taste with us. We are looking forward to see more from your good review in the future.

Cat/ @siamcat -Tasteem Global team

Tasteem discord:

https://discord.gg/fGF5P7c

Good write up.

That place is very picturesque.

Thanks @treepi. Glad you enjoyed my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76