Breaking language barrier through the table

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


On the fourth night of my business trip to Singapore, I finally got inside a restaurant that kept me curious in the last few days

I have passed by this restaurant twice before I finally dined in. The first one was when I was with my boss and he was leading the way to what he referred to as his favorite food court along Amoy Street. The second instance was when I was alone looking for a place to have my dinner. On that second instance, I was having second throughts if I go inside or not. That is because there is no diner like the first time we passed by so I thought maybe it is very expensive.
20190821_205332.jpg

On the third instance, I was also alone and got really curious as to why there is no diner. To satisfy my curiosity, I stood in front of the restaurant and scan through their menu that is displayed just beside the door. I haven't even had my senses into what I was reading and a guy came out to greet me. I do not understand what he was saying but I was sure that he is encouraging me to get inside. He also started pointing at the menu of what I guess are his suggestions for me to take.

"That was very fast!" I thought. I was amused that he noticed and immediately came to me. "Well, that's good business mindset. You don't let a prospective customer go away just like that." I again thought to myself.
20190821_205227.jpg

To give in to the guy who seem determined to have a customer and also to satisfy my curiosity as to what this restaurant has to offer, I got inside. I was already expecting it but I was still surprised when I got inside and see right before my eyes that I have the whole place to myself.

20190821_202506.jpg

Even before I got seated, the guy called out to someone further inside which I thought may be their kitchen. A lady came out and showed me the menu. They have so many options to choose from - from steamed to roasted to fried dishes. The range of prices is not that scary somehow. "Just fine," I thought.

She pointed to the roast prawn on the menu with photos and I was kind of convinced to have them. I nodded and ordered "two pieces" through raising my index and middle fingers.

She seemed confused so I covered three pieces of the prawns on the menu with my right hand and again raised my index and middle fingers but with my left hand this time while saying "two pieces of prawns."

Finally, she nodded. Then she gave me an all-text menu where I immediately found my next target. Rice!

I ordered for one serving of white rice by pointing to it on the menu. She nodded and started to leave but she immediately turned around and asked, "Drinks?"

"Ah, there you speak somehow!" I thought.

She pointed at the list of beverages but I shook my head so she went on inside. I later ended up ordering for iced tea after all.
20190821_202449.jpg

When I was left alone, I took the opportunity to further observe the restaurant and take photos.

It is very cozy, clean, well organized and presentable.
20190821_202522.jpg

With all the table lining, almost wall-wide mirror, fully leather-look covered sofa seats (though I was not sure if it is pure leather or just leatherette) and fully polished wood seats (I also was not sure of what type of wood they were - oak, teak, mahogany. Who knows?), this restaurant can pass for a fine dining experience without the expensive price of fine dining.
20190821_203513.jpg

The lady came back to serve the rice in a bowl with a plate and a pair of chop sticks. I motioned for utensils while saying the word "utensils."

She came back with a fork and a soup spoon. I wonder if they have the regular spoon but maybe not. She knows that I did not order for soup so she could have just brought me the regular spoon if they have it. But here is a soup spoon so I did not pry further for a regular one. She put them on my table like this.
20190821_202659.jpg

She went back inside and I flipped the menu with photos. It is amusing that they have so many to offer yet have no diners. I wonder why... I don't think it is about the price. Is it because of language barrier? I may never know.
20190821_202722.jpg

Finally, she came and served the roasted prawns. I immediately noticed that the prawns are clean. I mean there was not a trace of charcoal. I also noticed the steel skewers and not bamboo sticks.

"The prawns were roasted either inside an oven or over an electric grill,"I thought. That is fine. I do not have to worry about eating charcoal bits and pieces.
20190821_203603.jpg

I was totally fine with the fork for the rice but not in peeling the prawns. Try to imagine helping the fork with soup spoon. I made it somehow! I was already out of the restaurant when I realized that I should have done it manually with bare hands.
20190821_203854.jpg

In spite of the language barrier and the lack of regular spoon, I was still curious to try another from their menu. I thought maybe I can have my breakfast here the following day so I asked what time they open in the morning. I don't know how to say that through signs so I just repeated my question. She opened an app on her phone and put it in front of my mouth like a microphone. I asked my question to the phone and the phone spoke with the translation. She raised her two index fingers and I was slow to get it.

"Two a.m.? It can not be two a.m.," I thought. She may have noticed that I was confused so she opened the clock on her phone and showed me eleven o'clock.

"Ah, eleven o'clock!" I exclaimed.

"Yes, eleven" she said while nodding with a wide smile.

I juat smiled back at her but with frustration in my head. I will be in the client site the whole day so I need breakfast early. That means I will not have the opportunity to have breakfast here.

I went to the client and shared my experience to John who is a native Singaporean. He mentioned that those who can not speak English in Singapore are usually migrants from China. When I sent him this photo of the restaurant to translate its name, he also confirmed that it is a Chinese restaurant.
20190830_125924.jpg

Leading the way
276 South Bridge Road
Singapore 058825


Restaurant Information


Leading the way
score
South Bridge Rd, Singapore


Breaking language barrier through the table
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

It looks difficult to use fork. 😀

Thanks for sharing.

#tasteem-curation

I actually thought it was crazy to use fork. 😝

Thanks for dropping by... 😊

Howdy macoolette! Great review here. It doesn't look like those prawn have enough meat on them though! I've never had them, do they taste like fish?

Yap, the prawns are small. I think they are actually shrimp.

You never had prawns? Where have you been? There must be prawns in Texas and not just horses and cattles! 😂

Kidding aside, they don't taste like fish. I can't find the right word to describe the taste but for me, it is definitely more delicious than fish. Meat of the prawn is also firmer than fish thus crunchier when cooked dry like that roasted or just fried.

Here in the Philippines, it is usually cooked as sinigang or sour and savory soup. You can give it a try wit this recipe. Or, you can just fry it with butter.

lol! Well here they have crawfish that everyone eats and I think they look similar to prawns:

h0qt7yogmf.jpg

But I've never had them so I don't know what they taste like, probably not like fish.
That recipe looks very tasty indeed, thanks for sending that!

Mare, natawa ako sa experienced mo, jejejeje, Kay hirap pag d natin kababayan ang mg serve o d mkapagsalita ng English.
Anyway, I love reading your well detailed @tasteem post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oo mare, ang hirap. Buti na lang kontento ako sa pagkain nila kaya okay lang. 😊

Di kasi ako marunong mag-review kaya ikukwento ko na lang yong experience ko. 😊

Ako din, mahirap mgsulat pag di ko mismo ginawa. Salamat pala sa support mo, na appreciate ko yong pagiging supportive Filipino Steemians. Bihira lang ang tulad mo.

Posted using Partiko Android

Walang anuman. Yon lang ang kaya ko for now eh. At saka sabi nga nila, bayanihan spirit. 😊

Thank you very much! Do you curate any topic or do you have something specific?

The HoboDAO supports informative blogging and independent journalism content. :)

I see. Thanks again for dropping by. I hope to see you around more often. 😊

Compared to other fine dining restaurants, the price is still cheap.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-0ecc8d


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9250 replies. Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #632.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50