STEEM Food Tours #55 - I Love Yoo! 老油鬼鬼

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

Cheap and Fabulous Indeed!

Yoo08.jpg

Yoo06.jpg

Yoo09.jpg

Yoo10.jpg

Yoo07.jpg

Porridge and Yoo Tiao have been a traditional food for the Chinese in Asia, especially during breakfast. Some like to eat Soy Bean with Yoo Tiao, some like plain porridge. Me on the other hand, like Black Coffee and Yoo Tiao, dip them in a cup of hot coffee, and you get a very different aroma from the mixture of two things. Life is just so wonderful!

Oh, by the way, 'Yoo Tiao' is also known as Chinese Fried Churros or Chinese Doughnut. So then come I Love Yoo! Shops. They started out as a snack shop in Kuala Lumpur, mainly served Yoo Tiao, plus other fried treats like Butterfly Bun, Sesame Ball, Curry Puff, Sweet Potato Bun, Fried Nian Gao, etc... They also serve drinks like Tau Foo Fa, Soya Bean and Porridge, the porridge you can choose from dried scallop porridge or dried oyster peanut porridge, it's quite tasty.

Over the years their choices of food had increased by adding rice and noodles set into their menu. I guess if you want to serve in the competitive F&B industry, you need changes and varieties to gain customers.

I also like how simple the clean the place is kept, and the food is ordered from the counter but was served fast by the staffs, to avoid long queue since the shop is small as it is already.

text16.png

Let's See Some Food!

Yoo01.jpg

Yoo03.jpg

Yoo04.jpg

Yoo02.jpg

Yoo05.jpg

So we have Dried Scallop Porridge with Yoo Tiao set, another bowl that looks like Yoo Tiao but added sesame seeds at the side is actually Butterfly Bun, it's a bit sweet compared to traditional Yoo Tiao which is saltier, and it's supposed to shape like a butterfly but I guess they have not done a very good job in the presentations... lol... This set + butterfly bun cost around USD 1.96 only.

Next we have Mee Kantin, it's dried noodle, soft boiled egg, sambal, Yoo Tiao chips and dried shrimps. This bowl cost USD 1.82.

Then we have Fragrant Herbal Salted Chicken Leg + Rice + Yoo Tiao set. I have never tried this combination before but it was surprisingly tasty, I even soak some Yoo Tiao to the herbal soup, niceeee... This set cost around USD 2.98.

I always look for light food, especially porridge when I feel sick or not much appetite. This place at 3 Damansara Mall (Previously is Tropicana City Mall) have become the place where I will search for my comfort food whenever needed, and it's cheap!!

text16.png

Lastly, I wanted to share with you a nice story about this unique food, below was taken from I Love Yoo Website, they also have printed on one part of the wall in each of their shop around Malaysia with this story.

History of Yoo Tiao
Yoo Tiao has a rich tradition in Chinese culture. According to legend, in the Song Dynasty there was a traitor named Qin Hui who orchestrated a plot to frame a celebrated and patriotic general named Yue Fei. Together with his wife, Qin Hui succeeded in having false treason charges brought against the general, who was executed in prison. The story goes on to say that grieving and angry people made two human-shaped pieces of dough --- representing Qin Hui and his wife --- and fried it in boiling oil, calling it “Fried Hui”. Later this kind of food evolved into two pieces of dough joined along in the middle, which is how Yoo Tiao looks today.
Source

I hope you enjoy the story and the food photos. See you next time!

text16.png

All photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

text16.png

I Love Yoo!
Address: LOT NO LG-18, LOWER GROUND FLOOR, 3 DAMANSARA MALL, Damansara Intan, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Open Daily: 10 am – 10 pm
Phone: +603-7982 7693

www.iloveyoo.com.my

!steemitworldmap 3.130670 lat 101.626629 long I Love Yoo d3scr

Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Proud Member of:

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Restaurant Information


I Love Yoo! 老油鬼鬼!
score
LOT NO LG-18, LOWER GROUND FLOOR, 3 DAMANSARA MALL, Damansara Intan, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia


STEEM Food Tours #55 - I Love Yoo! 老油鬼鬼
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Thanks for entering @steemfoodtours #55!

Thank you too!!

love the catchy name! miss some good dough sticks here

Hope you can find some over your place!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @joelai, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Tasty ! .. i will have to try those with a coffee whenever i see them around one day ;)

Yes you should, but I can't promise if you will like it or not! LOL

this is one of my favourite too unfortunately where I am now, I won't have the opportunity to ..
can't wait till I come back..

I understand the feeling of staying away from home, whenever have the chance to come back, sure many things wanted to eat in one go!! LOL

Was talking to my mom this morning and she asked if there's a food court here that serves chicken rice or mixed rice :)

I remember Vietnam's chicken rice not bad though.

Congratulations @joelai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you!

油炸鬼專門店👍第一次見😊

Posted using Partiko Android

咩都会有第一次!

Wow! Interesting story behind Yoo Tiao! Great review of this little snack shop - now I'm hungry! 😂

Thanks for sharing, @joelai!

Thanks @traciyork, hope you get some food after this! 😆

Very interesting name :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72