STEEM Food Tours #93 - Bear's Smokehouse - New Haven, Connecticut - USA

in #tasteem4 years ago (edited)

title_image

Bear's Smokehouse

New Haven, Connecticut - USA
https://bearsbbq.com/new-haven

@STEEMFoodTours #93

Recently I had the opportunity to try out Bear's Smokehouse BBQ at The Stack in New Haven, Connecticut. It's a exactly what the name suggest, a smokehouse BBQ restaurant. I've been wanting to try Bear's for a very long time after @ricksandmann told me about it, and I finally made it. I went with my mom (@sjagoe), my grandparents and two of my Aunts for dinner on a Monday night.

Bear's Smokehouse doubles as a micro-brewery as you can see in the photo below. Black Hog Brewing from Oxford, Connecticut brews some small batches on site at the smokehouse.

IMG_1318.jpg

Cocoa Puff Porter

from Black Hog Brewing

I started things off with a pint of 'Cocoa Puff Porter' from Black Hog Brewing, which was made at the restaurant. It was a happy hour special that we caught with only 5 minutes to spare. It drank like a nice traditional porter with notes of chocolate and coffee. Overall, it was a good porter to get me ready for some BBQ.

Bear Balls

The highlight of the dinner was the appetizer. @ricksandmann has been raving about these for years and I'm glad to finally see what the hype is about. Bear Balls consist of pulled pork and mac & cheese filled corn bread balls topped with cheese sauce and bacon. Let me repeat myself... pulled pork and mac & cheese filled corn bread balls topped with cheese sauce and bacon. Yup. Whoever created this BBQ masterpiece deserves an award.

A040D3CD-E770-42D1-B3DB-C3E297D7B1C4.JPG

Bear's Sauces

Below is a look at the sauce lineup that is on every table. From sweet to heat, we have Kansas City Sweet BBQ, Texas Pepper, Hot Sriracha and Grizzly Ghost Pepper. I tried each kind. All were great in their own ways. I do wish there was a mustard-style golden BBQ sauce though.

IMG_1308.jpg

Two Meat Combo

As a meal I ordered the Two Meat Combo. This came with two choices of meats and two sides. I ordered the Pulled Pork and Brisket with a side of Mac & Cheese and Cole-Slaw. The meats were amazing. Tender, juicy delicious smoked flavor. I split the pulled pork up into four portions and tried each of the sauces. The Mac & Cheese was creamy and delicious and the cole-slaw was also pretty good with a strong apple cider vinegar flavor. Overall, it was an epic feast.

IMG_1312.jpg

The Family

Below is a picture of my family at the table enjoying the meal.

IMG_1315.jpg

Pecan Pie

We capped things off with a slice of Pecan pie. By the time dessert came around, everyone was feeling stuffed, but it was impossible to turn down a slice of Pecan Pie. We decided to split it. It was nutty and sweet, but unfortunately was missing the whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Regardless, it was a good ending to an awesome meal.

IMG_1317.jpg

I'm very glad that I finally got to try Bear's Smokehouse BBQ. It was as good as I anticipated. The Bear Balls are a heavenly creation and the meat was delicious. I hope to be back again soon!

Bear's Smokehouse's Website:
https://bearsbbq.com/new-haven

Restaurant NameBear's Smokehouse
Address470 James St, New Haven, CT 06513
Type of FoodBBQ
OccasionDinner
Time of DayNight
Price RangeMedium
Rating9/10

Love food?
Check out the weekly @steemfoodtours Challenge on Steem by @jeffjagoe

Click Here to Join the STEEM Food Tours Contest!

Good Luck & Happy Eating!

Thanks For Reading!

Sign Up to Menē for $5 towards 24K Gold Jewelry
Join Airbnb and Save $40 on your first trip
Earn STEEM Dollars & more by completing online tasks
Convert your online activity into Gift Cards, Crypto or Paypal with GaB
Use Bitcoin for Amazon Purchases and Save $$$
Sign Up to Binance - A Leading Crypto Exchange
Join Lolli for Bitcoin Rebates
Collect, Trade & Battle on the Blockchain with Splinterlands
Join Actifit - Get Rewarded For Being Active
Send a Tip Using the Bitcoin Lightning Network


Restaurant Information


Bear's Smokehouse
score
470 James St, New Haven, CT 06513, USA


STEEM Food Tours #93 - Bear's Smokehouse - New Haven, Connecticut - USA
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Everything looks very delicious :) But nothing better than a nice gathering!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeffjagoe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-043454


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @jeffjagoe, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community.

Join the foodie fun! Check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Follow us for a FOODIE reward! We'd also love your support via delegation(receive a 2x FOODIE reward) so that we can help spread gastronomic delights.

foodiesunite_small.png

Looks tasty that pie - together with 2 or 3 nice and cold beers, I could handle it...

Looks so yummi.

Ok, you just opened my appetite with this post.

You know, for a moment I thought those bear balls were actually Colombian potatoes, they look very similar.

Sounds like I need to try Colombian potatoes!

Oh yes, I'm from Venezuela but I looked for the recipe on YouTube and I made it, I fell in love with those potatoes.

Those bear balls look amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

they sure were! I'm ready to go back for another round

The food really looks great and to share it with a good !BEER and family, makes it even better!!


Hey @jeffjagoe, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51