Cafe Malaya | Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


How does one define Local Dishes in this context ?

Firstly, I'm not a local here.
Second, when I do find local dishes in the city, is it defined as local because it comes from my home or does it have to be local to the origins of the country's citizen?

Just too many questions to answer, so I'll just consider this as local to my home country.


Who have thought that there would have so many Muslim influence in this city. Many would assume that the Cambodian Buddhism is strong but I was wrong. The influences from the SEA countries. Japan and Korean is huge too.

In this short trip, I was brought to enjoy the famous Nasi Padang from Cafe Malaya. The owner, Amelia a Cambodian with Muslim ancestorial family from Kedah, Malaysia. She could speak Bahasa Malaysia very well, perhaps even better than me.

IMG_20191011_121558.jpg

This little cafe is very famous amongst the local and also expats who enjoy Nasi Padang though I don't understand why they claim that Nasi Padang is from Malaysia. There is a small table at the end of the cafe, near the cashier counter. Display of local malay dishes and diners would que to scoop the portion they want onto their plate. Each order is USD 5 - EAT ALL YOU CAN concept.

IMG_20191011_122235.jpg

They even had teh tarik with special request of kurang manis 😁. Truly comfort food to a glommy day in this country where poverty is very much seen. Strangely all transactions are in USD so it can really burn your wallet if you're not careful.

IMG_20191011_122026.jpg

I enjoyed my simple lunch and you can be sure I would return again. Its just so welcoming.


Restaurant Information


Cafe Malaya
score
#65E0 118, Phnom Penh, Cambodia


Cafe Malaya | Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Local Dishes


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Local Dishes> Contest . Thanks to @ireenchew, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

I enjoyed your restaurant view. The food looks delicious and the ambience of the place seems casual where people go to sit and enjoy family, friends, and good food. Also, your history of the place makes for a great post.

Have a great day, and take care.

Thanks so much..
It's the closest to home for me in this country

Looks good

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58