Vegan burger: it’s better than it looks!

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I love burgers. Who doesn’t, right? So, this week one friend invited me to taste some vegan burgers here in Chiang Mai. And since the beginning, my answer was: why not? So we end up meeting at Munchies, which is not a place only for burgers, but also nachos, burritos, “nuggets”, hot dogs, “fish” and chips, mac’n’cheese, and other kinds of fast food. Some typical Thai dishes, such as papaya salad are also on the menu.

Going to the unhealthy side of vegan food was quite interesting even the food didn’t look so delicious.

“Chicken” burger meal


It’s not the first time that I go to a vegan restaurant in Chiang Mai. But I always find it curious the way that all these restaurants serve dishes with a kind of meat imitation. And this time, it wasn’t different.

My choice was the “chicken” burger meal, which includes sweet potato chips and also the famous Thai soda water (which is perfect for the hot days here!). I also like that they serve homemade kombucha with many flavors.

The burger and the fries were tasty, however, the “meat” inside seems ultra-processed and the chips were a bit too greasy. The burger is not that big too. And considering the price, it was a bit expensive (the meal costs $199 bahts/approximately US$ 3,13) comparing to other places in Chiang Mai.

IMG_20190426_194002 (1).jpg

IMG_20190426_192229.jpg

IMG_20190426_192250.jpg

It’s vegan, but not healthy. And I think that I would prefer something more natural, like chickpeas burger or even mushroom burger… I believe also that if the food were more natural, the appearance would be better too.

The Munchies


Munchies reminds me a lot the McDonald’s style. Everything is made for you to chose quicky and also eat quickly. There aren’t so many tables to seat and the place is quite small too. But since it wasn’t full, we were able to seat and enjoy our burgers without any rush.

IMG_20190426_192312.jpg

It was tasty for sure and if you’re craving for fast food it’s a good place to go.
IMG_20190426_192327.jpg

IMG_20190426_192235.jpg


Restaurant Information


Munchies
score
4 Ratchaphakinai Road, Muang, Amphoe Mueang Chiang Mai, Chang Wat Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand


Vegan burger: it’s better than it looks!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I would love to have this cruelty-free burger right now yumyumyum

Love the phrase "cruelty-free." :-)

wow that Burger looks quite yummy!

I am not vegan but when someone invites me to eat vegan I do not mind I am happy to taste. I always have eaten very good vegan food. The only thing which I do not eat is nothing except for the one which affects my digestion or stomach :)

Those places always surprises me!

It was! But wasn't so big! :P

I have never been to a vegan restaurant but I wouldn't mind trying it either :)

It's good to change sometimes, right? I think you might be surprised!

A friend of mine who is vegan tells me that he always feels energetic and even dynamic, and adds that the heat seems to affect him less now that he's vegan.

I was considering adopting a vegetarian or vegan diet. Then I had another serving of the delectable stewed-chicken curry, and abandoned any foolish plans to avoid meat.

And, after my next "meaty" meal, I intend to indulge in some truly sinful dessert!

Cuz I deserve it.

hehheeheheh for sure you deserve it!!!

Do you know the bakery just inside the entrance of Tops Supermarket? They recently started putting out what is called a "CRONUT." A cronut is a sinfully delicious blend of a CROissant and a doNUT.

Yesterday evening, I was gonna have one, but they were sold out!! Damn!
Whatever, I trust that I still deserve one.

Cheers!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @helgalubevi, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77