Saigon attractions: Cút chiên bơ - Cô Năm (Butter Quail)

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image

Seriously, if you are planning to go to Saigon, plz keep in mind what I’m going to tell you. That is you must try Butter Quail which is sold in Co Nam restaurant located in 54 Dong Nai street, district 10. Don’t miss it if you want to taste the outstanding cuisine of Saigon.


Recommendations from real Saigonan

Thanks to recommendations of my friends, I went to 54 Dong Nai street on a rainny day. Right now is wet season in Saigon, the season that it keeps rainning constantly, whole day. But that weather was not that bad, even suitable for some hot food like fried or griled ones. It couldn’t affect a food lover like me to explore the best Butter Quail in Saigon, absolutely.


The restaurant.

I got Co Nam restaurant, I could feel the smell of butter right away. It seemed to be more attractive on the rainny day like this. My first impression was there were so many people eating overthere. Two floors and even the next house seemed not have enough seats for customers who kept coming in. It is just like any kind of local restaurant, old, basic, not even look nice, even feel a bit messy because it was too crowded. But i still had good feeling about it somehow.


36894C5C-1C4D-4B10-8E51-096B2468A2FD.jpeg


The menu

The staff parked my bike carefully and directed me to go upstairs. Fortunately, there were a couple of seat for us. This restaurant is extremely well-known for Butter Quail so they dont even have a menu to see. They serve just several food made from Quail and beverages. Not a lot of choices. I think people come here not because of quantity but quality.

I ordered the most famous dishes here which are Butter Quails, boiled quail egg, bread and cane-juice. Seem enough.


The food

After ordering 5 minutes, they served us a dish of Butter Quails. How fast! The dish including a kind of herb, pickle and lemon-peper-salt. Overall, the quail seemed to be fried deeply and perfectly to have a honey brown color. Besides a mouthwatering appearance, it also attracted me with the butter smell. They must have their own recipe for frying the quail with butter.


5B58D014-2C05-4CC0-9993-7A80F486E875.jpeg


Unable to wait longer, I took the first bite. Oops. It wasn’t like what people had told me. It wasn’t just good. It’s excellent. The cover was not too much oily, but the taste of butter was really clear. I prejudiced that fried stuff is always dry. But with this butter quail, the meat inside was wet and soft enough, really savoury, I could feel a rich flavor, not tasteless like other fried foods.

While eating butter quail, they served us all what we ordered before. No need to wait. Boiled quail egg is kinda normal. Cane-juice is so freshy. I love it. But the thing that I need to review more that is bread. Actually not bread but the sauce to dip bread in. Lol. I dont know what it’s made from but it is so special and outstanding. I heard a lot of compliments for this sauce and now I know why. Salty, sweet,... or what I dont know but I think I can eat 2 breads with just this sauce only. The butter quail was the best here but undoubtedly that the combination of bread and sauce was also beyond expectation.


8418AE41-B9E0-439A-AD61-AF67FE2360C4.jpeg


The price

The price is so unbelievable.
0.7$ for a butter quail. We ordered 5 quails for 2 people. That’s enough. Next to my table, there was a group of 5 people, they ordered 25. Lol. They must addicted to butter quail.
0.2$ for a big glass of cane-juice. Insane!!!
0.5$ for a dish of 10 quail eggs.
Bread I dont remember but i think that it is also cheap.


The service

The restaurant is not nice at all but the service is ok. The way they help customer park bike. The way they get order and serve food. Fast and attentive.


Rate: Highly recommend.

If compare to grilled quail in Hanoi, butter quail is much more better. I can say that this one is the best quail that I have ever had.
It deserves 9/10 rate.


By: @hanggggbeeee


Restaurant Information


Cút Chiên Bơ - Cô Năm
score
54 Đồng Nai, Cư xá Bắc Hải, Quận 10, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam


Saigon attractions: Cút chiên bơ - Cô Năm (Butter Quail)
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @hanggggbeeee, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hello, @hanggggbeeee. Team Tasteem would like to talk to you about some managerial issues for Tasteem Vietnam on our discord channel. Please join us through this link and leave a message on the channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92