Hokkien style Fried prawn noodles

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Last night I had the chance to eat one of my favourite Chinese cuisine dish - the Hokkien style fried prawn noodles. And a few reasons why I love this dish is that there are few types of seafood in it, these are fish cake, squid, and of course a generous serving of prawns.

In addition, among all of the "dry" noodle dishes that I know of, the Hokkien style is the one with a lot of sauce on it. So with this dish, the slurping of noodles is allowed :D

20190326_191703-01.jpeg

Before I start with the dish, let me show you the place first. It's in the Serangoon area, inside the NEX shopping mall, and the name of the food centre is Food Republic. The Food Republic is basically a modernized version of a "Kopitiam", a traditional "open food center style", it's modernized because it's already air conditioned. It's also said that the quality is better that's why the price is higher than what you can find from its traditional version.

20190326_191633-01.jpeg

The noodle dish is cooked fresh, in a matter of 5-7 minutes, it will be done in front of you and will be served on the counter while you wait. So you'll have the assurance that the food is still steaming hot as you sat down to your table.

As you can see, I was provided with 3 slightly big pieces of prawns. The only turn-off is that the shells or skin isn't removed yet and so I had to use the spoon and fork. I can't really use chopsticks to peel off the skin :(

20190326_191636-01.jpeg

When it comes to the overall quantity & quality of the dish, I'm satisfied with it. I ordered for smallest portion and it's already generous enough for my standard. The prawn flavour is also satisfying. I learned that they are using the broth from the prawn and stir-fry it with the noodles until it become a thick prawn sauce. The noodles itself is tasty since it absorbs part of the broth and the flavour of prawns is infused to it.

I also like the presentation, even it's in a plate, they still served it on a traditional leaf that was used during the olden days. It doesn't improve the taste but it add up to the experience.

By the way, this dish is one of the top dishes that Singapore can offer. So if you happen to visit this country anytime soon, I strongly suggest for you to give it a try.

Cheers!
FT


Restaurant Information


Thye Hong Fried Noodles
score
23 Serangoon Central, Singapore 556083


Hokkien style Fried prawn noodles
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I'm no good with chopsticks either. I always need the cutlery. I also prefer they will remove the shells for me, but someone told me the taste is better when they are left on for cooking. This looks like a really nice place to eat :)

I have to agree, I also think that it taste better when cooked with the shell on. I just wish I can use my hands, hehe.

Friends, pay attention to each other!

Hi, please avoid sending same comment to several accounts. Even if you don't mean any harm, other people will think of your actions as "spam". You could get downvoted or reported to Steemcleaners if you keep doing what you do. Take this as a friendly advise. Still, have a nice day.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @funtraveller, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

你那里天气如何?欢迎在steemauto里设置跟赞 @cnbuddy 给整个cn区点赞倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

My goodness, look at that dish! Can I have a taste??

the presentation is really nice, with something holding and wrapping it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54