Kaffee Mayer In Bratislava And A Slice Of Eszterházi Cake

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


Two weeks ago I had the opportunity to visit Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia, which is situated along the Danube River and it's very close to the border with Austria and Hungary. Bratislava was once part of Kingdom of Hungary, the Hungarian name of the city is Pozsony. Part of the population is of Hungarian nationality, in Bratislava there are more that 11,500 Hungarians out of 474,000 citizens.

IMG_20190714_152041a.jpg

In the old, historical city center there is the Kaffee Mayer, a confectionery and cafe, open since 1913. In 1980 the confectionery went through a restoration process.

It has a nice terrace where you can sit down and enjoy the atmosphere. On weekends the square is full of tourists and musicians playing random music. You can be served on the terace of take a seat inside. The staff was polite and they speak English.

001-003.jpg
source

The interior is amazing, the furniture is made of wood and the decoration is meant to bring back the old times. There's a big painting of Sisi, Empress Elisabeth of Austria.

IMG_20190714_155143a.jpg

It has to offer a great variety of cakes, coffee and soft drinks.

IMG_20190714_155140a.jpg

Let me list the cakes you can see here, maybe there is one or more than one you're heard of.
Tartalekta, raspberry eclaire, raspberry cheesecake, panna cotta, limet mousse, caramel cardinal, purple lavender, caramel lava, exotic mango, white mousse, chocolate mousse, eclaire, sea buck thorn temptation sanddorn, chestnut nest, Charlott's bomb, mini sacher cake, cherry in marzipan, cream cake, poppy cake, marzipan cake, Eszterházy cake, chessboard cake and strudel.

IMG_20190714_160843a.jpg

I'm a fan of fruit cakes and like my cake not too sweet but this time I chose the Eszterházi cake because of the history of it. I've heard a lot about it but have never had the chance to taste it. This was the perfect occasion.

Esterházy torta is a Hungarian cake (torta) named after Prince Paul III Anton Esterházy de Galántha (1786–1866), a member of the Esterházy dynasty and diplomat of the Austrian Empire. It was invented by Budapest confectioners in the late 19th century and soon became one of the most famous cakes in the lands of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy.
Esterházy torta consists of buttercream spiced with cognac or vanilla, sandwiched between four and five layers of almond meringue (macaroon) dough. The torte is iced with a fondant glaze and decorated with a characteristic chocolate striped pattern. There are, however, many different recipe variations. In Hungary, the original almonds have been entirely replaced by walnuts. source

The cake was delicious, it was with almond and had a piece of almond on the top. It was sweet but not too sweet. It costed €4.30 like most of the cakes they hare selling, which is acceptable if we take into consideration that the confectionery is in the city center of the capital.

IMG_20190714_160850a.jpg

Another member of our team had the chessboard cake, which was also delicious.

IMG_20190714_151943a.jpg

This is the statue of Schöner Náci on the corner of the cafe. He was a well known character of the mid-20th century. His father was a shoemaker, his grandfather was a famous clown, he on the other hand walked around the city in top hat and tails, greeting women with the words, “I kiss your hand” in German, Hungarian and Slovak.

If you're in Bratislava and want to have a nice dessert, this is the place you have to visit. Don't miss it! Next time I'm going to be in bratislava I'm going to taste the other cakes, that's for sure.

Address:
Hlavné námestie 355/4,
811 01 Staré Mesto,
Slovakia


Restaurant Information


Kaffee Mayer
score
Bratislava, Slovakia


Kaffee Mayer In Bratislava And A Slice Of Eszterházi Cake
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hi erikah,

Please provide the exact address of this restaurant.

This is to ensure the standard quality among Tasteem. In case you can not pin the address on google map, you can do this by adding an address at the end of your post.

I think this is the full address of the restaurant
Address: Hlavné námestie 355/4, 811 01 Staré Mesto, Slovakia

#tasteem-warning

Thank you.
[Tasteem supporter] Carlpei

Hello @carlpei, I tried to paste the address with phone number and email but I guess I did it to the wrong place. I'm pretty new here, it's my first tasteem post.
So tell me please, do I just paste the address at the end of the post?

Yes, you can do that. You are doing pretty alright for your first post. Thank you for your co-operation.

Ițm trying to bring quality, as always.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @erikah, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Thank you.

Great review, and this place looks absolutely delightful! 😊

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it 😃

The cakes look really delicious. I'm greedy and you made me hungry :)

I'm glad you like them, thanks for stopping by :)

Esterházy, was it Esterházi or Esterházy? Because I notice you type "I" when you spell for the cake and "Y" when you mention the Kings name. I got sweet tooth. This post can spoil my diet plan in split second 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

That is my mistake as the old Hungarian language had Y instead of I and many of these old names end with Y.
You can have a slice of cake from my photos :)

Congratulations!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

OMG I wouldn't know what to choose 😱😅😝

Tell me about it! I was standing in front of the fridge full of goodies for 5 minutes till I could decide what to choose 😃

That is such a beautiful city to be, the cafe looks beautiful and the cakes looks so delicious!

You're right, it's a place worth to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64