You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aki Jitan (A great noodle bar in Tokyo, A Tasteem Review)

in #tasteem6 years ago

That looks very cool @bengy

Japan is definitely on my list of places to go. One day........maybe!

The food looks great and the quirky system looks fun too. How hard is it to get around Japan with little or no native language ability?

My friend used to run a ramen noodle place in Bristol and it was awesome. I could get a decent selection in Thailand when I lived there too.

Great job. Gaz

Sort:  

Ramen and Udon noodles are the best! I really have to learn how to make the soup base a bit better... but I got some hints from some of the people here... different type of Miso that I should try to start with!

Most of the people could speak or at least understand English, and in general were really friendly and happy to help! Public transport signs are often in English and there are always lots of people whose work function seems to be helping the lost. I didn't get too far off the main areas, and so I'm not sure how it is in the rural or smaller areas... but definitely in the large cities, it is no problem!

Cool. I guess things are changing there like most places. If you go back 20 yeas in France you wouldn't find many people using English and now, especially the younger generation, they regularly speak it.

I have some friends/colleagues from a previous school that worked in Hiroshima. They had lots of stories from their time there. Partly why I'm fascinated with Japan now.

It also really depends on where in the country. Most of the larger cities are better with English, but the smaller areas and rural places tend to still be difficult to communicate, even in Europe!

You're right. Even in Romania. In Bucharest the English level is very good, the moment you leave the city it stops drastically.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50