Dining with Bozz: Pizzapapalis a Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


About a month or so ago, @mrsbozz and I drove down to Toledo, OH to meet her sister's family for lunch. Over the years, we have found the Toledo area to be a good halfway point for meeting when time doesn't allow us to take the full four hour trip to their home.

On this occasion, they suggested we meet at Pizzapapalis. Though it is a small chain, they only have about seven locations which I feel shouldn't exclude them from being reviewed on Tasteem.io

It was a rainy Saturday, but we were quickly able to find a parking spot just around the corner from the building. I filled the parking meter full of quarters only to realize after the fact you don't need to pay on the weekends!

IMG_20181027_153414.jpg

The building itself is kind of in an industrial part of town and there didn't seem to be a lot of people out and about. Maybe it was just because of the weather, maybe it is just the reality of Toledo these days, it would be hard for me to guess.

IMG_20181027_153400.jpg

Like the streets around it, the place didn't appear that busy with only a handful of the many tables being occupied.

IMG_20181027_135900.jpg

It wasn't until we were just getting ready to leave that my brother in law told me this place is actually attached to the Toledo Mudhens stadium and if you go upstairs you can walk right over to the baseball diamond. I thought that was pretty cool and I imagine it would change the amount of traffic they see during the baseball season.

IMG_20181027_153304.jpg

Actually, now that I think of it, it was close to Halloween when we visited as you can see here by the costume one of the staff members was wearing.

IMG_20181027_140129.jpg

I apologize for the blurriness of the photo above. I took it as I was walking back to the bathroom and I didn't want to freak the kitchen staff out thinking I was taking a photo of them.

The menu at Pizzapapalis is pretty vast as you will see by the pictures below:

IMG_20181027_140043.jpg

IMG_20181027_140054.jpg

IMG_20181027_140100.jpg

IMG_20181027_140103.jpg

IMG_20181027_140107.jpg

IMG_20181027_140115.jpg

IMG_20181027_140526.jpg

Service was great and fast as far as drinks and things like that were concerned. If you have ever had Chicago style pizza, you know it takes quite a while for it to bake due to the thickness. The waitress really has no control over that though, so I don't fault her for the time it took to get our meal. I don't really fault the kitchen for that either. It is just a fact when you are ordering deep dish pizza...

My sister in law decided to start off with an adult beverage. I had never heard of this particular brew before, but @mrsbozz and I both tried a sip of it and decided it would be an awesome Summer beer to sip on when the weather is hot.

IMG_20181027_141327.jpg

The blueberry comes through pretty prominently without being overwhelming. My sister in law and her oldest daughter shared a salad that I didn't get a picture of. Their family also ordered a large deep dish pizza to share and my youngest niece got a build your own pizza that was on the kids menu.

It is a pretty cool concept and something that I remember doing at home as a kid. They bring out an plain piece of dough and you put your sauce and toppings on it yourself in whatever way you like. Quantities and placement are all up to you!

I'd say she did a pretty tasty job!

IMG_20181027_144823.jpg

My wife and I ordered a small deep dish pizza to share and I also ordered some wings in a honey bourbon barbecue sauce to have with my pizza.

IMG_20181027_144638.jpg

It was probably a good forty five minutes to an hour before our pizzas were delivered to our table. We didn't really mind though, it gave us time to chat and catch up on what was going on in each other's lives.

IMG_20181027_145740.jpg

Apparently my oldest niece didn't want to be in the picture :)

IMG_20181027_145746.jpg

We all needed to get a box to take our pizza's home with us. Deep dish isn't like traditional or New York style where you can down four to five pieces in one sitting.

I have to apologize again that I didn't get a picture of the receipt. Most of the prices are on the menu though and you can get a pretty good idea of what things would cost by looking at that. For the amount of food you get along with the quality, I think the prices are really fair.

I definitely wouldn't hesitate to find my way back to Pizzapapalis if I were ever in the Toledo area again. For that matter, I wouldn't be surprised if I visited one of the Detroit area locations either. If you are in the area and are looking for authentic Chicago style pizza without making the trip to the Windy City, I highly recommend this place!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


Pizzapapalis
score
519 Monroe St, Toledo, OH 43604, USA


Dining with Bozz: Pizzapapalis a Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

The concept of providing toppings on a menu should indeed exist in various restaurants to create freedom for customers to create a menu combination.

I don't think it's a problem if it's too long to wait for fresh pizza.

Anyway, another a great review. Thanks for sharing with @tasteem

#tasteem-curation

Thank you!

Great review, although the pizza looks good alas I could not have it to much tomato on it for me, I am allergic to tomato as well,it doesnt bother me as much as being allergic to chocolate does, but I have to go for white pizzas or minimal tomato sauce

I used to get a pizza from this place that was a BLT pizza. They used a mayo base for the sauce and it was fantastic. It still had tomatoes on it, but you might have been able to get them left off.

Ohh yes I have had a mayo based pizza and I did lov eit, I havent had pizza for quite a while but white or mayo based work for me ;)

I will eat just about any kind of pizza myself! Glad you get to enjoy some of them.

I don't know... 45 minutes for a pizza would be a deal-breaker for me... however, it does look decent enough... even if it isn't really the sort of pizzas that I'm used to over here!

It's pretty typical. Most places let you know before you order so you can pick something else if you want. Chicago style isn't my favorite but it is truly one of a kind.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's pretty typical. Most places let you know before you order so you can pick something else if you want. Chicago style isn't my favorite but it is truly one of a kind.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhh Boy. That's a serious looking pizza!

I love that the restaurant is directly connected to the ballpark. That's a really cool idea. There is a TGIF that I am really fond of in Phoenix. I mean the food's fine, but this one is in left field at Chase Field :) Even an empty ballpark is better than your average view! I've been there twice in the week before the Stadium Motocross event that's held in January. It's really fun to watch them getting the track ready for the bikes...

Thanks for a great review! I really appreciate it!

That is pretty awesome. @mrsbozz has relatives in AZ so I can see us going there someday. Maybe I will get a chance to check it out! Thanks for the great comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that looks like a fantastic place to get pizza! I really love some good pizza, yum!
Im confused though, why is the sauce on top of the cheese?! LOL

That is Chicago deep dish style. There are about four main kinds of pizza in the US. Chicago Deep Dish, California Style which is thin. New York Style which is more traditional, and Detroit Style. Which is another form of deep dish. There are actually many more depending on the region you life in. The Upper Peninsula of Michigan and Wisconsin/Minnesota have a thin style that you find all over up there.

Wow, who knew pizza was so complicated,haha! Never had anything fancier than Papa Johns or homemade. Around here there arent any pizza places that serve anything different. Ill have to look around and see if there is something better within driving distance. That just looks too yummy! I know it probably tasted waaaay better than fast-food pizza. ;)

Papa John's is pretty decent though I haven't had it in a long time. We have a ton of chain places around where I live, but most of them would be considered similar to the New York style. There is a chain place called Uno's that does the Chicago style deep dish. If you can find one of those near you that would be your best bet.

I've been to Toledo!!! Also, just went to Springfield, OH right after SF and will be back in Ohio next summer!

Very cool! I hang out in the Columbus area a couple of times a year. It is a fun town.

Maybe we can do a mini meetup in the summer at the German Town!

That pizza look so meaty & inviting. Love the cozy ambience. 🤤

Will definitely gonna try that place when I able to visit the windy city someday! 😄

Thanks for the comment! The cool thing is this is actually in Toledo so you don't have to go all the way to Chicago!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.571 which ranks you at #5912 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 5904).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58