Eating with Bozz - Beer & Brats: A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Several weeks ago I wrote a post about my friend and I doing some work on my truck. You can check it out here.

Around noon that day we both decided we were quite hungry and I wanted to thank my friend for his help so I took him out for lunch.

He lives a bit off the beaten path, but just down the road from his house is this place called Beer & Brats that I had heard about before but never tried. He had been there several times before, so we decided this would be a perfect time for me to be introduced into it.

IMG_20181020_121543.jpg

From the outside Beer and Brats looks like your typical small town roadside bar. It is basically a building in the middle of a large parking lot. We have a lot of these types of places around where I live and grew up.

IMG_20181020_121548.jpg

You can see my friend here walking in. I am going to be honest. It looks a lot like your average country bar on the inside too. Usually they consist of a large open area with a bar along one wall. Beer and Brats was no exception to this layout. I have a feeling it just works really well which is why most of them are setup the same way.

IMG_20181020_122324.jpg

I am not sure if you can see it in the picture here, but the popcorn machine against the wall is another staple for a good country bar. Something to much on while you are enjoying your first beer and waiting on your appetizer or entree is always a welcome treat.

IMG_20181020_122320.jpg

Here you can see the bar along the back wall and the entrance to the kitchen to the right of the bar. In the middle of the floor is what many places use as a salad bar. Here they fill it up with toppings for your bratwurst instead.

IMG_20181020_122549.jpg

Their menu is pretty standard for this type of place. Some specialty pizzas, burgers, wings, sandwiches, and of course given the name of the place, bratwurst.

IMG_20181020_122555.jpg

Given the name and at the recommendation of my friend with both got the Jalapeno and Cheddar bartwurst. For a couple dollars extra we were able to add a second brat to each our orders. They also had one of my favorite beers on tap so I got myself a PBR (Pabst Blue Ribbon).

IMG_20181020_123200.jpg

In a short time, our brats were on the table in front of us. My friend ate his plain, but I went to the topping bar and added some mustard and onions to mine. That is pretty standard for me with any bratwurst. If it doesn't have onions and mustard on it, it just isn't complete. I already shared a picture at the opening, but I will share it again here just in case there is a sizing issue.

IMG_20181020_125320.jpg

I was really impressed with the brats, they had really good flavor and were decenly juicy on the inside. Being jalapeno cheddar they had a good deal of heat without being too overwhelming. The bun was a little dry, but I was happy to see that meat to bun ratio was not out of proportion.

The chips(crisps) were your standard bag chips but they accompanied the brats nicely. I think I would have been miserable if I had tried to do fries or some other side with two brats.

As far as price, I feel Beer and Brats fits with the Cheap and Faulous theme very well.
IMG_20181026_072122.jpg

Even with a beer on the tab, the total for that, our four brats, and his soda was under $25.00. You can actually see that my beer was only about a dollar more than his soda.

I would totally come back here another time to try some of the other brats that they have. Some of the sandwiches, burgers, and pizzas sound pretty tempting too.

It is nice to see that all of their meats are either smoked in house or sourced from other Michigan businesses. Beer and Brats is definitely a place to visit if you find yourself North of Midland, MI and are looking for some cheap and fabulous eats!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


Beer & Brats
score
4562 N Eastman Rd, Midland, MI 48642, USA


Eating with Bozz - Beer & Brats: A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hei, @bozz,

Another great review, then showing various sides of this place starting from the design of the place, menu and food.

Thanks for sharing with us and enjoy extra curation.

#tasteem-curation

Regards,
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

I have a real weakness for a good brat. Actually, I have a weakness for good food. :)

That place looks like the aliens could pick it up and set it most anyplace and the people going by would know what it's about. Only the people change...

For sure! The name is pretty spit on about what they do. I am sure you have passed a million places like this on your travels.

Posted using Partiko Android

The bratwursten look pretty decent, and the unusual flavours make for an interesting hot dog! Hope the beer was decent, I have to say the crisps as a side is a bit of a let down, they could have done a great side of fries if they wanted!

You can get fries if you want. It is an upcharge though. The beer was great. PBR on tap is something really special.

Posted using Partiko Android

PBR? It's not a beer I'm familiar with!

Pabst Blue Ribbon it is a classic. Only more popular now because the hipsters picked up on it. I was drinking it before it was popular though. It actually gets a bad rap but it is one of my favorites. Some people don't think it is very good quality. They are dumb though 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

They are dumb though

Ahhhh... beer tribalism at it's best! I can't stop laughing at this....

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

looks really good. Will get a review done one of these days. You would make a good food critic as it's well thought out and professionally done.

Thanks I appreciate it. I look forward to seeing your first review! I bet it is going to be awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Beer & Brats are always a good couple! 😎
Great post, it makes me hungry. 😉

Yes they are! I was getting hungry just typing up the review! Thanks for the comment!

very beautiful restaurant ❤ love your presentation.

Thank you!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

That looks like my kind of place and food. Great prices too. Thanks for sharing and very nicely done review and post.

Thank you, I appreciate it. Yes, I was pretty impressed with the prices for two decent sized meals. It gave us the energy we needed to go back and finish up my truck repairs.

I like the brats but I love the hot Italian sausage that the local market makes, that is some really good stuff cooked on the grill or the George Foreman cooker.
You are most welcome on the compliments, very deserving for what you made here,

Oh that looks tasty! Looks like they have a nice menu of pizza choices as well. Great review @bozz!

Yes, I didn't get to see what any of the pizzas looked like, but I am sure that @mrsbozz wouldn't mind going back there with me and trying them out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75