La Chabrot (Riberac, FRANCE): A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

Most summers I find myself in the Perigord region of France for work... I play for a festival there, and it usually means that I do some work and then eat and drink myself silly for the rest of the time! So, whilst I've been down here... I've started to find some pretty nice places to eat (it's hard to find bad places...)... and some really nice favourites!

One such place is the restaurant La Chabrot, which is in the town of Riberac (one of the larger towns in the area...). If I'm lucky, sometimes I put up in a hotel or a townhouse in this town... which means that I get to visit some of my favourite places (including this one!).

The Space

IMG_20190608_192030.jpg

There is a cute little bar and kitchen down the back. The actualy size of the place is not very big... most of the restaurants in this area aren't that big, there isn't that much in the way of population.. although, there is a large seasonal population with the visiting of the Dutch/English over the summer months.

Still, it is a nice sort of decor and ambience that they have created, it is a cosy feeling... a place that you really feel quite comfortable in.

IMG_20190608_192043.jpg

As I mentioned earlier, the space is small... but it doesn't feel cramped. The spacing is decent, and hte mirrors lend a feeling of larger space to the area. There are usually a couple of outdoor tables on the roadside if the weather is good... however, I don't think I would be keen as the traffic really is a metre or so away from you... it's not a busy road... but still, not my thing!

The Menu

This time when I was dining here last (and when all these photos were taken...), I was with a group and we had a set menu with a few choices for each course. So, in this case... the waitress did everything from memory and would describe it all to us... no paper menu!

However, you can find their current menu here:

https://www.lechabrot.fr/fr/la-carte-2

The Food

So, these were my selections for the three course meal... I can't remember the alternative selections (no photos to remind me!)... but the people that did choose them enjoyed them quite alot! Unfortunately for me, cheese doesn't always agree with me...

IMG_20190608_192526.jpg

Just a simple salad with jamon to get the taste buds going and the mouth watering... it was light, and a great way to start the lunch!

IMG_20190608_194452.jpg

Okay... we are in duck country... so a Magret de Canard (Duck Breast) is the order of the day... accompanied by sweet carrots and a potato gratin. However, the big and very welcome surprise was a delicious chorizo! Definitely a great pairing, duck with chorizo!

IMG_20190608_200310.jpg

A Berry Panna Cotta! Normally, I do prefer Panna Cotta with a good honey... however, I wouldn't turn down one of a favourite dessert dishes with berries either! Not quite as good as honey, but definitely a very very close second!

The Experience

The atmosphere of the restuarant was quite cosy... a place where you feel comfortable and not at all rushed. We took a good amount of time to eat and digest... and we never felt like we were being rushed. Some places can be all to eager to get their table back and ready for the next diners...

The duck was one of the best that I've had... sometimes, the duck breast can be a bit tough.... but not here! Chorizo was tops! The wait staff were really quite friendly, despite my really crappy grasp of French!

I really enjoyed this place... unpretentious and good food in a delightful atmosphere for eating! Definitely one of my favourite places in this area to visit!

Opening Times

Monday 12–2pm, 7:30–9pm
Tuesday 12–2pm, 7:30–9pm
Wednesday Closed
Thursday 12–2pm, 7:30–9pm
Friday 12–2pm, 7:30–9pm
Saturday 12–2pm, 7:30–9pm
Sunday 12–2pm

Contact Details

Address: 8 Rue Gambetta, 24600 Ribérac, France
Phone: +33 5 53 91 28 59
Email: [email protected]
Website: https://www.lechabrot.fr/fr/

Trip Advisor
Facebook
LÍnternaute


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


La Chabrot
score
8 Rue Gambetta, 24600 Ribérac, France


La Chabrot (Riberac, FRANCE): A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

The atmosphere of the place is similar to being in the living room of the house. A great one for weekly choices.

#tasteem-curation

Regards,
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

It really was a great cosy atmosphere... plus great food! Thanks for the curation!

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.646 which ranks you at #1775 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 118 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Looks delicious! 🤤

It was great... it can be hard to find a BAD meal in that area of France!

It looks great and the portions are reasonably sized.

Yep... no gigantic sized portions... just the right size for quality taste and nice contentment afterwards. Not bloated!

ooh this looks fabulous! just like a little war time restaurant. all of ot looked amazing, but the pannacotta looked soooo great!

Ha... just missing some cabaret!

A great review looks such. Charming place and how cool no paper menu but I think that goes with the charm of the pace

Thanks... it was a cute little place! But there are many of these types of places in that area of France!

Thats cool there are so many of them ay options to try :)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bengy, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Quaint restaurants and I go well together. I have had the best luck as they are usually privately owned and operated and most take great pride in the food selection and service.

Oh!!! Your food was so beautifully plated and served. I do so love the rich taste of a well-done duck. It looks absolutely succulent! Such nice little places that you select!

You can choose one for me! You have great taste!

!tip

I get lucky with a lot of these places... sometimes it is just colleagues who are completely food lovers that choose... and I get to have the perks of being a friend!

Oh, how lucky can you get!

🎁 Hi @bengy! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Need For A Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Love France, been there more times than I can remember over the decades

Love France, been there more
Times than I can remember
Over the decades

                 - wales


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It's always a great place to visit!... just not so much Paris or the big cities...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44