Freehand Gel Pen Tarot: The Lovers

Originally I wasn't going to upload these as anything more than clipart/backgrounds/themes since I am not the most tremendous artist. My friend at https://steemit.com/@in2itiveart encouraged me to do so anyways, so I decided to share some of my personal tarot cards with you on tarot tuesdays.

In school I always did drawings with gel pens while I should have been paying attention to the teacher. I was, in fact, listening to the teacher; Drawing was just part of my learning process as it allowed me to focus. Gel pens have many limitations as far as shading, blending, color choices, and fine detail. None the less, I always enjoyed how vibrant the colors were compared to colored pencil or watercolors. Sadly, only physical paper copies exist and I do not have a scanner, so I had to resort to taking pictures of the originals in my album. The lighting threw the color off, which I tried to bring back to what they look like in person by adjusting the exposure a bit. I illustrated the major arcana in this gel pen style in 2016/2017 after realizing the importance of the fool's journey concept. Eventually I hope to do a minor arcana to match it.

First I share The Lovers, and yes I did censor the full details of their nudity incase any children find their way to this post! This one is closely based on the Rider-Waite deck in general format. Most of my major arcana is significantly different but there are a few where I liked the Rider-Waite depiction so much I retained the format.

Now fellow Steemians, I expect proper attempts to point out the symbolism and easter eggs hidden in this card!

Sort:  

Steemit Tarot blog graphic.jpg

Hello from the Steemit Tarot community!

@steemittarot began as a way to curate all the Tarot Tuesday posts that starting popping up on the site. Now the hope is to connect all readers, people interested in learning about the cards, and other assorted people bearing good juju.

To this end, your post has been resteemed and/or upvoted. To find out more, check out the intro post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72