A LETTER TO MY SIXTEEN YEAR OLD SELF

in #talking166 years ago

iStock-184839769.jpg

Dear little one,
These are the words of your grown up self,
From he who was you once,
To he who would someday be myself...

I know that this letter may never reach you,
I simply write in the wild belief that you may see,
That even though many of your dreams never came true,
I'm glad you never believed in "what will be, will be"...

Look, your teenage years may be much overrated,
As a man now, I can tell you that,
Those "learn this or learn that" words which you hated,
They've come around now to bite me back...

Little Sixteen, I do not claim to be any wiser,
I would be you again if I had the chance,
If only to do the same things a little better,
Now that experience has burnt my hands...

I could start talking of all that I've learned,
Of love, of money, of commitment, and aims,
But all of these things you too have felt,
Only in your case, they were little more than games...

So I'll simply say, all in all I'm proud little one,
Of you, of me, of what we've become,
If life was a game, we may not have won,
But it's safe to say we've certainly begun...

And we'll get there someday,
And he who we would become would show us the way...

With another letter in due time...

Yours in the nearest future,
Sladen Kay

#SladenSpeaks

This piece was written for @cadawg's talking16 contest. I decided to write my letter in poetry form, so it pleases the ear. Anyways, to be part of this contest, visit the link below...

https://steemit.com/talking16/@cadawg/my-first-contest-for-red-fishes-or-talking-to-your-16-year-old-self-or-500-followers

Loved what you read? Then smash the hell outta that upvote button!
Dont like it, then softly touch the upvote button.
Either way, you rock!

BRVF51QgEXt.jpg

Sort:  

Hi, it's me @mermaidvampire, the judge of the contest. This is wonderful! You write golden poetry, Sladen! Keep it up. Upvoted and followed. I'd love to see more from you in the future. Keep Steeming and keep writing! Thanks for joining @cadawg's contest. I'd also like to invite you to check out my own contest, you can find it here: https://steemit.com/untalented/@mermaidvampire/diy-greeting-card-making-contest

Aqwww, thanks for your nice words, you're too kind.
I'll go check out your contest, definitely.

Awesome, it is great to see some variation in the presentation of these posts, great messages too by the way! Keep it up, keep going & never give up!
~ @cadawg

Wow, What beautiful words! So nice!

Thanks, you're too kind 😊

You got a 5.61% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @seesladen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47