Why on earth would I chose Synereo over Steemit? Synereo does not even exist!

in #synereo8 years ago

1453467_10153409238845304_1573128016_n

Synereo-Amp does not exist as a platform, it is an idea that has been discussed for TWO YEARS over a numerous amounts of skype conference-calls and google hangouts. I´ve been in the Synereo-Chat since when there was less then 10 people knowing about the project, and they failed to convince me that Synereo-AMP has what it takes to become successful for the end users. In my opinion they talk too much, code too little and the progress has been super slow, I mean - seriously super slow.

When the largest name on steemit suddenly start pumping synereo amp, I had to read twice

Earlier today I heard that @stellabelle had written an article about Synereo-Amp, and obviously she has bought a shitload of the coin on either bittrex or poloniex and to protect her synereo-investment, she does what every n00b does, start hyping it, and having that many followers - well, guess what that "MASS SUGGESTION" managed to do today:

The Stellabelle pump

There is nothing wrong with investing in shi... altcoins or crypto-projects, even competing technologies. However I find it rude after steemit has been a very rewarding platform for @stellabelle that she goes out and put up a big question-mark between Steemit that exist, works is liked and is being adopted by the masses VS Synereo-Amp which does not exist, does not work, has not been developed, tested or even planned to be released in a very very long time.

But in Crypto we love the drama, and this is what it is - drama. Fugazzi, Figuzzi - panic in the air.

What I see from the power-down of the steempower of @stellabelle is a classic panic-dump

If she could, she would dump all her steempower at dirt cheap prices just like the majority of bad traders does when they sell the bottom or close to the bottom and maybe buy the top later and get what we call REKT.

I mean seriously - who is selling at these prices?

Luckily for her, she can´t dump all now, it will take her two years, and in that time - we´ll be at the moon!

I personally have only powered down I think once to test the system, and yes - I do see the price of steem but so what? I did not get established here on this platform to run away when times are a bit tough - hell no. I´ll keep powering up and make great content instead of barking in all kinds of direction about how little control we have over the money that is being distributed on this platform according to how much voting-power and steem-power every participant has.

I am on Steemit to stay!

I love Steemit, and I don´t think Synereo-Amp has what it takes to make it - I am not sold on their idea, their business-plan or their marketing - at all. They are too late to the game, they are in little-league and will probably never make it anyway.

At the end here, I´ll include my very original song about trading bitcoin and altcoins as a bonus for new users and a fun reunion for my followers, Enjoy :)

Keep Calm and follow @fyrstikken

Sort:  

"However I find it rude after steemit has been a very rewarding platform for @stellabelle that she goes out and put up a big question-mark..."

You have to look at it from her perspective: She accomplished exactly what she wanted to accomplish. She got a lot of attention, Ned responded to her post, and she's already earned another $700 for talking about Steemit...again. It's the golden goose. It's a formula that works and she's wise to the game.

What I find more troubling is that so many people continually fall for this type of attention-seeking and then reward it to boot. More than anything else, this is probably the type of activity that outsiders see and want no part of. It harms the credibility of the platform when these types of posts are making hundreds, or even thousands of dollars either praising the platform (which makes the reward look like a form of "jerking in a circle," so to speak) or bashing it (which makes the rewarding seem a bit schizophrenic).

In my opinion, praising or griping about Steemit ought to be taken to the chat rooms or to other sites as reviews. Posts about Steemit to other Steemit users on the Steemit platform shouldn't be eligible for rewards. I don't see how it's considered "quality content" that actually brings value to the site. To someone on the outside looking in, it looks absolutely absurd. And I say this as someone who was on the outside and was hesitant to join because of it. The perception is very poor, no matter what we think of the platform as a user.

@ats-david I did look at it from her perspective, that is why I wrote this post to give my perspective on the issue. As I said, steemit is up and running and Synereo-Amp is not. So to compare those two is not really something we can do yet.

I hope Synereo-Amp launch something cool, they have done a series of ICO-investments along the way but produced no results.

Once people sell out and power down just open up the door for more people coming in and investing. Don´t forget that for every seller there is a buyer.

"As I said, steemit is up and running and Synereo-Amp is not. So to compare those two is not really something we can do yet."

Exactly. I said as much on her post. Whatever she thinks is "better" or "solved" by Synereo is simply theoretical at this point. It's not even in alpha testing yet. I don't know her and I don't like to cast aspersions on others that I don't know, but it seems that her grievances with Steemit are - at the very least - a bit misguided and her declarations about it are certainly premature. After all, this is barely in beta mode, really. There are a lot of things that need to be worked out, including perhaps the rewards themselves, which are integral to the platform.

I'm no cheerleader for Steemit. I think it has a lot of potential and I've been doing my part creating what I believe is useful and valuable content, mostly. I was hesitant to join at first, but I'm genuinely interested in learning the ins and outs of the system. If this platform lives up to its potential, then those who have worked to build it will be handsomely rewarded for sticking with it - and in the process, their social circle and their influence in the community will have likely expanded. If you put in the work and treat this like a social platform, there is huge upside potential.

What we need to make sure is happening is the developmental side. It would do everyone a lot of good if there was more transparency from developers about the direction things are headed in the short and long-term. And it would be great if some of the whales who are powering down could explain why they are powering down - especially if it's simply to liquidate assets in order to put them to use on the developmental side. There is a general lack of confidence - with the blogging side of the platform and the viability of the underlying currency - that should be addressed before it spirals out of control. Instead of whales and dolphins going at it with minnows, we should all be working together to resolve the major issues, or to at least seriously address them and begin discussing realistic solutions.

If decentralization is going to work and if Steem/Steemit is going to survive, there has to be a dialogue and there has to be transparency. I know it's early in development and everyone is busy, but communication could be a lot better all around.

@ats-david I agree communication can be a lot better all around. I run http://steemspeak.com a 24/7 drop-in live talk radio which is a place everyone can come and voice their opinion whenever there is some disputes that should be lifted up from the text-only-space and up to the let-us-talk-about-it space.

We are almost 700 users, and we are pretty calm cool and collected about all this drama, you should join us.

Hvordan gar det @Frystikken ?? well I am not selling i can say that ! I just wanted to pop by and say hello to you. My good friend and fellow Steemian @zaebars turned me on today to your stuff. We laughed together so much really. Just wasnt to thankyou for you brilliant humour and the great info it converys !! Amazing really. I really needed to see something like this here and its just cheered me up so much !! So I love Norway and i have a great lady there for quite awhile, been a rocky road but it seems i will be going back again to Frederikstad to give us another go !! Where are you then in Norway ?? Have you talked with @ramta here, he is too from Frederikstad and i will be meeting up with him for a beer and a chat when i get there, a very nice guy indeed !! Power be to you Big Viking of Steem and may the Force of Steem be always with you !! ; - ) Following you now !! Hade Bras !!

I upvoted the stellabelle post as well as this one. I like that other platforms are being discussed. I don't agree with several points stellabelle made because as pointed out here, the platform doesnt exist. But the post generated a lot of discussion about what users want, whats attractive about the synereo idea and how steemit can be improved. The tone was a bit off putting and the band-wagoning in the comments. But still I think the post was valuable. Do i believe synereo has all the answers, no. But some of the ideas around social contracts and social computing are fantastic. As pointed out in stellabelles post they also have mechanisms for stopping abuse etc. All great ideas, but im not sure many if not all couldn't be implemented using the steem blockchain or through steemit.
Ultimately its all speculation though as fyrstikken pointed out, it doesnt exist yet.

I agree praising or griping about Steemit is best kept in the chat area.

Upvoted. Mostly for suggestions in paragraph three.

who is selling at these prices?

Content creators who are taking their earnings.

It's like asking people, "why are you cashing your paycheck this week? 6 months from now it 'might' be worth m0ar!".

That's speculation.

You have no idea what the price may be in the future and with little volume, few buying, bad press, angry users ... how can anyone predict that in the future it will just magically get better? The only way that scenario plays out better is the tried and true pump & dump.

The people cashing out are not investors, they are content creators taking their pay for their content they created. They don't have time to wait for a paycheck that may or may not grow larger, but likely get smaller the longer they wait, as has been the case over the last 4 weeks or so.

And these content creators don't have time to wait on a pump & dump to cash out higher only to end up back where it started, lower or just a little higher. You're talking about "investors" and the majority of people are not investors. Questioning them for simply taking their pay (their money) when they want it at a rate that's OK with them is asinine and usually done in an attempt to make them seem foolish just to stay into a system that you invested in so you can cash out on them at a higher price.

Have some sort of empathy for others dude. These people have worked hard at their craft to earn what they have here and belittling them for taking their profits for their work is a bit harsh.

I think you are talking about SBD. How can minnows like us affect the Steem Market when we only got SBD and a little SP compare to investors or whales. hmmm

@themanualbot minnows had a life before they joined steemit, so I am sure they can become investors and whales if that is what they want.

However, the real reason people act the way they do is 1) They want free money, and 2) They are envious, spiteful and 3) Greed has corrupted their soul.

Ever heard the words of wisdom saying: "For the Love of Money is the Root of All Evil".

Well, it is true. When you give a normal person with no success and limited income a superlarge fat paycheck every day for a couple of months, and then take it away from them ... Holly Shitcoin how angry they become, and that is when you realize - that angry person has become corrupted by greed for the love of money and has now become a pest to the society.

I have seen it happen so many times before, and I am sure I will see it many times again in the future.

Managing Money professionally is an art-form, in fact - I Educate my trading-students about this so they don´t do something stupid when they make their first $100K on 1broker. I don´t want them to lose it all on the market by thinking they are somewhat invincible just because they made 1/10th of a million. Sometimes the best thing to do is to just sit on your hands until the right moment appears ;)

Hope I see you on SteemSpeak.com soon :)

fyr

Loading...
Loading...

So you wont join Synereo later and share all your great songs, and earn AMPS there along with your Steem here? I think you might? The UI experiences are totally different so I don't think they are really even in competition, other than for traders I guess. This is definitely a Reddit feel, Synereo is more like some mix of Google Plus, Facebook, and something new. Anyway, it doesn't have to be either or as a choice, one can hold a few cryptos. :)

@tuck-fheman sure, it is speculation - but I´ve also been in Bitcoin/Crypto since 2009, and I have seen this kind of drama before in hundreds and thousands of altcoins when they go down in value.

I´m confident things will get better, but first they might get worse. :)

It is the game of coins ;)

"who is selling at these prices? Content creators who are taking their earnings."

Well said! I've had one article pop for over $300 a few days ago (but the price has fallen since) andI decided to let it ride awhile as my best shot at a "probably good" long term investment. (Also added $25 to my Coinbase to buy some more Steem soon as a speculative investment). But overall, I'm thinking to cash out 50% of any and every $1000 earnings to pay off cc debt. If that ever happens of course.
But point being if I earn it, I want to get paid. That's the promise of this platform. I do happen to believe in the long term potential as well, but furthering your analogy that's like putting 100% of your paycheck into a 401k.

Damn.. nice post. Start posting stuff like this, teach us all the little tricks and nuiances behind Steemit. Personally, I still don't completely understand how Steemit's payment system works and I've been in the crypto-world since 2011.

Very Good points @fyrstikken

I can't understand how @stellabelle came to those realisations. They way she starts the article is pretty sad as well. How she can possibly complain about posts getting ONLY 300 SBD? Ofcourse when she compares her older cashouts it makes more sense. But really, can't she see that she got lucky at the beginning and that probably, much like the tinfoil vigilante, their posts are not worth as much?

I think people's heads get filled up with air, especially those early lucky ones. Reminds me of rich kids complaining about not getting a ferrari, and instead an average.... jaguar.

Sad, really sad to see people that made so much money from posting par-tier posts now turning against the very system that elevated them. If I had made so much money I would give at least a quarter back to the system by investing in advertising and all that.

One point I want to make. I don't recall her saying she wanted to move, but felt that what was offered to her by way of protection was insufficient to another competing platforms options.

She is right, if the internet is part of our daily lives, we need options to block out the ugly beyond "ignore it".

Powering down stuff. Honestly, as much as I love using the site and also am wildly wanting to grow my voice/steem power, if I had enough to take a reasonable amount out for a few weeks by powering down, I certainly would be doing just that. Starting the process does not mean intent is there to follow through to completion.

It was designed to reward the content providers, cashing out is part of that and not everyone has the luxury to wait for the money.

Thank you! It makes me happy to see more optimism on Steemit, To be honest I've been a little frustrated with Steemit. Because things seem to be all over the place. My curation rewards have been more random and crazy There seems to be more spam. But I know at some point we will see changes from Dan And Ned.

When the project of Synereo starts up, I'm curious to see how it works out. I am glad they released Steemit, Imperfect. I feel like we are more able to weigh in on what we WANT from the platform, Instead of being stuck with what ever it is.

Great post~
@kaylinart

Hey guys, Keep Calm and Steem On!

Do you want to trade some shitcoins?

Come on let's go and play.

Yea, as a rule, I don't invest in a crypto-currency until it has an actual working, local opensource client. Until then, it's vaporware, just like Synereo is currently.

But it might be too late then?

Too late for what?

I meant that when everythign is out, its too late to invest )

Usualy best done on early stages

Ridiculous, even when Synereo releases, 99.9% of the world still will not have heard of it.

Funny how you cry "harassment" for quoting you in a cartoon and then I get flagged ...

yet you make $1,648 for slandering someone in this post.

Way to go Steemit Whales! =/

I had zero success with steemit, but that's ok. I am probably a shitty writer and a gullible investor.
However, I am a bit disgruntled with steemit when I see that some (not all) untalented writers posts stories that make thousands of dollars. Then I end up learning that some of them are friends of steemit founders and I feel a bit cheated.
I will stick around on steemit for a while and keep my poorly performing steem power on for now, but I feel that many small users like me are equally dissatisfied.
Perhaps this current crash-crisis is a good thing for steemit as it will focus the leaders' mind into a more distributed and fair platform, so good luck to @dan and @ned in going through these tough times.
That said, as a mere user, I like competition and if someone else finds a better and fairer way to reward users and curators, I will welcome that too.

Being new is always a challenge, specially when there is 80,000 other people and more people joining every day that also want to post content.

Then I end up learning that some of them are friends of steemit founders and I feel a bit cheated.

Care to elaborate on who did this? Because I don't remember seeing any cases like that. Perhaps you are confusing early miners with the founders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65231.23
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48