Spooky CoincidencessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #synchronicity5 years ago (edited)

Coincidence no. 1

"Ei älä koskaan ikinä muutu"

That is Finnish, so unless you talk this gibberish language, you have no idea what it says. Point is, the melody randomly wormed into my head and bugged my jukebox into autoplay while I was at work. Now, the same day I get home, and decide to watch a movie that I found from a trash shelter where some lazy person had leaved them for someone else to pick up. This is a bit random already, because I don't often watch movies nowadays, couple a month at tops.

So, I watch the movie, and at the end there's the same melody that got stuck in my head during work. Actually, in the music video there are clips of the movie.

Spooky thing is, I had never seen that music video, until after watching the movie (not that I can remember at least).

Coincidences – they happen. And thinking this random collision of two events would be somehow meaningful, could be just our survivor bias kicking in where we pay attention to random coincidences, while ignoring the numerous events in our lives that don't connect in any way.

But wait, there's more...

Coincidence no. 2

Couple weeks ago I made another episode on my Confession of an Unknown Worker series, and in that I made a reference to Edvard Munich's painting, The Scream. The following day I'm reading Haruki Murakami's 1Q84 novel, and guess what? I read a reference to the very same painting. Now, it is a famous painting, so if it wasn't a divine sign from the universe, maybe it's just that great minds think alike. I could live with that explanation.

Moving on to the next one where things get real spooky...

Coincidence no. 3

I was reading @elliotjgardner's post where he was pondering on the role of 'stuff' in his life, touching the subject of retail therapy and how we use it as a coping mechanism. Reading it, I glance my shelf and all the unnecessary papers there that had accumulated during school that for some reason still sit there. I take one random paper from between the pile. I unfold it and it is a handout from an English course:

Retail therapy

said the headline

Now, at this moment I had to take a little time out: "What the fuck did just happen? Why did I just take a paper from the pile, and how is it exactly the same themewise to this post?"

I sit at my chair and keep staring at that paper that somehow got attracted to my hand like a magnet, it seems: "Yup, I just pulled that from the dozens of papers there."

The synchronicity can't really get any stronger here, because there wasn't even any extra timeline in which the events could have a higher chance to occur, no, this was exactly in the moment, instead of tomorrow.

DSC_0286.jpg

I'm not particularly religious, so I don't think these are a sign from the universe, but it does make me wonder and set my imagination racing when such thing happens thrice in a short period of time. You know, such coincidences you'd expect to be engineered, stuff that only happens in stories to advance the plot, but now I was the one in the plot, so I got a freaky feeling that there's someone constantly watching my every move from above and planning it for the next. What's the grand finale?

Have you had any freaky coincidences? Tell me about them.

Sort:  

Yes, quite a few in the last months.
The best one was when I randomly went to walk with two friends in the forest/park. And when sitting and talking a person came and sat about 200 meters from us and it seemed like it could be another friend of mine but I was not 100% sure.
So when leaving I thought let's see if it is the friend that I think it could be and it was him. So I asked why was he here just at this moment. And he said he was planning to visit a friend, but some plans changed so he randomly thought to come here to watch the sunset while listening to music. :D
Well it could be a coincidence, but the chance of this happening exactly at the same time and quite randomly...

Was it a friend you'd not seen in a long time?

Not really. Maybe I visited him few weeks before. Why?

Would've been more random if it was a friend you had seen years ago :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.489 which ranks you at #2182 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 121 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have these sort of weird coincidences all the time and I love it! It's a bit freaky but it's never anything bad so I welcome it. I can't remember anything specific right now but it's often a sivistyssana or something very specific that I hear randomly on a tv show, and then right after that I read it somewhere, or vice versa.

Gotta say, I like these spooky coincidences too :D

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 10000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66