What is your Native American animal symbol ?

in #symbol7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8483.PNG

This diagram says so much ..

I am cusp .... a Beaver / Deer ... so I am a Beer.

This is why I like beer so much.

Animals are an important part of Native American culture and there are representations of just about every animal imaginable in the symbolism of Native American horoscopes. We’ll focus primarily on the animals most closely associated with birth months, in other words, the zodiac of Native American tribes. Similar to the Greek horoscopes that we use today, Native American tribes held the belief that the time of year a person is born into will directly affect a person’s personal characteristics. Similar to the animal symbols of the modern horoscope, the Native one is also represented by animals. Here is a list, by month, of the animals and their traits.....

More: https://www.apost.com/en/blog/what-your-native-american-zodiac-symbols-really-means/616/

The Beaver/Deer: Beer

April 20th through May 20th – The Beaver The beaver loves being in charge but is also flexible and can adapt to any situation easily. Ever businesslike, the way of the Beaver is efficiency tempered with an almost nonchalant air. Using these traits, the job typically gets done. If you are born under this sign, you are a cunning individual who should never be underestimated. As a Beaver, you’re sharp thinking and bright. If you are born under this sign, you’ve got it going for you. Unfortunately, a Beaver is also inclined to stubbornness when it comes to what they view as the proper procedure. Though typically right in these circumstances, a beaver could benefit with a little more tact. Under the right circumstances, Beavers can be loyal, compassionate, helpful and generous. Adversely, Beavers can also be cowardly, nervous, stubborn, and a tad possessive.

Like a Beaver I have no tact... as you can judge from my many Steemit posts on God and Religion. I am irreverent and tactless

May 21st through June 20th – The Deer The deer in Native American mythology represents the creative influence. Witty and inspiring, the Deer also has a great sense of humor and can make almost anyone laugh. Always willing to converse, if you fall under the sign of the Deer then you are a great talker. As a Deer, you are amazingly affable and oftentimes the life of the party. Environmental awareness is also a key trait of a Deer, and typically those born under this sign are very fastidious when it comes to personal appearance. Somewhat conceited, the Deer can be a bit self-absorbed. This is usually forgiven because he/she is typically so easy to get along with. Thanks to the inclination to be lively, the Deer can be a great inspiring member in any relationship, and tends to lean towards a nurturing personality. The Deer, under certain circumstances, can be a bit moody, lazy, or even seem to have double standards.

Sort:  

Wolf. No surprise considering I have various wolf adorned stuff, like my blanket which is entirely covered by a giant wolf face. The description describes me pretty well.

Awesome... mine too.

This is a great Post. I am an Owl. We need more articles like this on Steemit. Very Interactive. @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(0.5%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
https://eraoflight.com/2017/12/05/what-your-native-american-zodiac-symbols-really-means/
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Interesting article. I am Native American Cherokee. I have a Tribal membership card and a BIA White card. I was born in the capital of the Cherokees in the Indian hospital.

My first language was Cherokee although I am no longer considered a talker.

The information in this article is new to me. Growing up we didn't know what Zodiac was or how our birth month affected our personality.

I enjoyed the article though.

Me too. I am Ojibwe... called Chippewa in the USA

I believe the Chippewa are the fifth largest nation in the United States. I knew a few Chippewa when I was in the military. My Navajo friends always boast of being the largest nation in America. I tell them it's impossible for them to be the largest nation when I believe that the largest nation in America is the Wannabe Tribe. If I am correct then my nation moves from the second largest to the third largest and your nation moves from the fifth largest to the sixth largest in America.

We call our selves Anishinaabe here in Canada. There are no borders between USA and Canada. We are all cousins ... one Family

Very true cousin.

Haa Raven....what does it says

You could click the link and read it. I am cusp .... a Beaver / Deer ... so I am a Beer. This is why I like beer so much

Like a Beaver I have no tact... as you can judge from my many posts on Religion. I am irreverent and tactless

I am a cusp too raven snake snavken?

The Snake / Raven is the great Serpent Trickster we read about in the Genesis Story and many other Creation Myths .... In Hebrew the word for Serpent is Nachash .... It is an awesome symbol and the numerology (Gematria) of Nacash = 358 (Serpent = Messiah) http://ha-nachash.blogspot.ca/2013/02/teli-and-pole-serpent-moshiachnachash.html

or Raven/Snake is a Rake ? or Snaken .... Nachash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45