Sort:  

Sandcasting is a nice place to start. you basically just need a crucible, a fire(i use gas) and something to use as a fflask for the sand. investment casting is of course more precise and all but you will need much more equipment to started on that.

Indeed. I will probably start out building a little more advanced setup than what you absolutely need. My dad built a pretty great bronze pouring setup that uses dipped shells, and it gave me some ideas I am pretty excited about. I am planning to build the whole thing on a trailer and have it set up with an assembly line style heating and pouring system. I have a propane tube style forge that should be able to double as a furnace for the crucible with a few modifications. I am sure I will make a post about it when I start building. I did investment casting to make a ring once. I had a cobbled together centrifuge and a vacuum chamber and all that. It was an interesting process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43