The Old Dog Finds: A Squeakly Clean Public Washroom? A New Solution to an Old Problem!

in #switzerland6 years ago (edited)

Yes I know, I know, I have a fixation with finding clean public washrooms! Call me weird but I know that you're having trouble finding them too!

Remember this?: The Old Dog Asks: Pay Toilet Wars.... Are They Really Worth The Money?

On that occasion I did find a clean public washroom but it was a PAY toilet.

Have I Now Found The World's Cleanest Free Public Washroom?


I think that the answer may be yes but why it's clean might just surprise you! Check out what I experienced this past spring!


First Let's Take A Look at The Location For This Gem of a Washroom!


@lellabird60 and I were hiking up to the top of Monte Brè near Lugano Switzerland. This is the half way point.



The object of our desire was the balcony of the hotel and restaurant over yonder!



Having a nice cool drink here is an awesome pleasure and a great reward after the walk!



Of course after the drink and the hike it was time to use a washroom and we were expecting a cringe worthy experience at this public washroom that's used by hundreds of people a day!


As we approached the doors to this public washroom I was fully expecting the gross meter to have topped out at 10! What a shock to find everything spick and span and in perfect condition!



Why, not only were things clean and shiny but they added some little flowers to make our experience even better!


What Was The Secret to This Washrooms Cleanliness?


These premises are cleaned and maintained by volunteers from the town!


In case you can't read it well here is what it says (the grammar errors are not mine):

"These baths are cleaned by voluntary people. We beg you to respect them and to leave these services as you would like to find them. Many thanks for your kind co-operation."


What a paid cleaning service could never do volunteers from the town have accomplished! Way to go Brè, you just might have the cleanest public washrooms in the whole world! I for one am thankful!


What do You Think?


  • Do you have trouble finding clean public washrooms?
  • Are you surprised that volunteers are cleaning the facilities in this tourist town?
  • Do you feel that this is a new and unique solution?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about: "A Squeakly Clean Public Washroom? A New Solution to an Old Problem!"


Until next time,  

 
@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Sort:  

I heard the consensus for clean public toilets are Japan.
Kudos to the Japanese football team who cleaned up after their last match.
BTW, "payed" should be "paid"

I've never been there but I can believe it. Thanks, I've payed er paid for my mistake!

You're welcome. :-)

Even if the washrooms weren't pleasant I think it would have been worth it to have such a wonderful hike with those stunning rooms @kus-knee.

Clean washrooms were a bonus! 😊

In answer to your questions:

Do you have trouble finding clean public washrooms?

Yes. Pretty much everywhere.

Are you surprised that volunteers are cleaning the facilities in this tourist town?

Very surprised it's not a job I would want to volunteer for.

Do you feel that this is a new and unique solution?

Yes, but I don't feel tourist places, such as where I live should have to rely on volunteers.

The public toilets in my area are pretty disgusting and only to be used when you have no other choice. Also, there are not enough of them. 😢

The volunteer aspect is so unusual. Hopefully when people see that it's clean and tidy they respect the goal of keeping it that way.

Hopefully when people see that's it's clean and tidy they respect the goal of keeping it that way.

That was my thought too @kus-knee and, I would imagine that you might get a more responsible type of person in such a place! 😁

I think this is very a big problem in every country....public toilets are so dirty...cleaning your public toilets is very important to keep a good level of hygiene of health...The following needs to be include the following activities.
1 Check stock of toilet Paper..
2 Check stock of Paper towels..
3 Check stock of soap..
4 Check stock hand Lotion..
5 Check stock of air freshener..
6 wipe sink and fittings..
7 wipe mirror..
8 Check and wips toilets..
9 Pick up litter..
10 Empty bins..
11 Mop floors..

I have to say I have never seen a faucet with a larger drop!!! WOW!

Sadly I am still finding many of these cramped up ones, where the spout is right next to the back wall of the sink!

20180630_222419.jpg

20180630_222422.jpg

Yes the drop is normal for that era here in Switzerland. My home is from the 60's and it's similar.

Your example does look cramped.

What a beautiful place! I would expect no less from the people who live in such a pristine and clean setting! Looks like they respect the land as well as their structures. I can only hope visitors are as respectful and clean up after themselves. I've found that most don't respect "it " unless it's theirs............

Yes cleanliness is culturally engrained here.

Most Common Bathroom Problems that i faced in my life.

  1. Sewer Smells
  2. Clogged Toilet
  3. Running Toilet
  4. Weak Water Pressure
  5. Clogged drains.
  6. Slow drains
  7. Leaky faucet
  8. Leaky shower head
  9. Mold
  10. Poor ventilation

I know, I know!

Solution of these problem is necessory like we breath.

I'm Happy to see you found that was impossible to found :P
Many many congratulations.

LOL yes true!

It's the most clean washroom i have ever seen! Amazing Hospitality.

It is amazing!

Don't you kidding me!
I just can't believe it's a public washroom, Public washroom here in my country are not even watchable!
I'm happy for you!

I'm happy for me too!

Nice experience @kus-knee
Actually, when the sharp urge to travel to the toilet strikes out of obscurity, choices to try to to it well ar generally slim! we have a tendency to checked out four free apps that build finding a public public toilet a additional pleasurable expertise.

THE LIST is that the national honour award winning show wherever popular culture takes a need-to-know twist. we've got everything that’s trending and fun, within the type of a listing.

Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.scripps.thelist
IPhone: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-list-tv/id1073229263?ls=1&mt=8

Category: Eertainment.

May be it will good policy,, thank..s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34