You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Asks: Am I Under Military Attack?

in #switzerland7 years ago (edited)

I was already familiar with the Swiss system in relation to the quasi-mandatory military attendance, except for the people choosing to service the population instead.

I've always liked the idea under its many forms. Seeing military or police around usually and by the great majority of times makes me feel unsafe as where there is a show of such power it seems to be a sign that something is lurking.

Nice little article again @kus-knee, thanks for sharing the information. Namaste :)

Sort:  

Yes 20,000 thanks! Yes I wouldn't go to the army so I did civil service. I will tell that tale in a future story!

@kus-knee I dropped by because @jrcornel's post reminded me of you
it's about a horned lizard and the ants he bought which maybe your solution to your ant problems??? if you like lizards :D

Did you know about Switzerland's conscription law?Does it surprise you?

No on both. Many countries in Asia have the same situation

Would it make you feel strange or protected to see the military presence?

not really, it was a normal scene in the Philippines on a monthly basis so not really but I understand how this probably feels here. The first time they put up soldiers on the borders the people sort'a not like it. It must be such a tough scene to watch.

Thanks so much for the lizard info. I didn't know that the military was such a part of "normal" life in the Philippines! Immagine if they all just planted flowers how beautiful it would be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88