The workout today was a swim

in #swimming6 years ago

After yesterdays 60 mile ride, I was pretty much done with cycling today, so I opted for a swim. Although it takes quite a bit of energy to swim, at least you don't drip with sweat in high temps.

The swim lane at Camden community center pool
swimlane.jpg

Todays swim was 2700 yards over 1h and 19 minutes. All of the gaps you see in the graphs are the times that I took a break to catch my breath and to let my heart rate go back down.

When the data is uploaded to Strava, it does not show the details of the data like the Garmin Connect site above.

Here is a graph of my swims starting from July 2017 which is the blue line. The grey line is the count of the 2018 swims. I typically go almost once a week, probably more like 3 times a month. This is in warmer weather as the two pools that I go to are both outdoors.

So I have been trying to improve my bi lateral breathing. I was struggling with the breath on my left side, but realized that I was not turning my body much to that side and I had to rotate my neck a lot more which is wrong. Since I started rotating a bit, my breaths to that side are much easier.

I need to also improve the timing of my breaths and my kicking technique. This takes a lot of specific practice in a pool which cuts into cycling time.... decisions, decisions on which method to workout...

Sort:  

@glennolua Excellent swimming for this heat. That's great. That's great. What kind of swimming do you do? You can rotate your style when you feel very tired. Swimming looks easy but it's not. Breathing and coordination are very important. It's very good for the joints. Reduces stress levels. The pool is beautiful. Wonderful complex. Anyway, nothing is great, dear friend. Have a great night. Have a great night.

I just do the typical free style swim as it is the fastest stroke. I think most people that do not swim think it is easy, but it is not. This is because it requires a lot of energy to pull yourself through water and it takes a lot of coordination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80