Early morning swim in the sea

in #swimming7 years ago

Ocean swim


Yesterday morning I went for a 6am ocean swim with my swimming club. We had perfect conditions for a swim, there was no wind, it was nice and warm (20'C), the water was a toasty 21'C and there was not a lot of swell or waves. We ended up doing just over 2km that took is 40 minutes. We swam to just behind the surf, went in one direction for 1km turned around and then swam back to our starting point.

Ocean swims are a nice way to work on your stamina and overall fitness. This is because of several reasons such as the fact that there is no place to stop, the waves makes it harder and you constantly have to lift your head to check your bearing.

It is very important to train with people, a nice way is to join a club, there you often get people that are more experienced and can give you a few pointers if you are new to the sport. You will need someone to help you if you get into trouble and it is better for shark deterrent if you are swimming as a group. I have been swimming with the same club for the last 6 years now and it was just the best choice ever.

Here we are getting ready for the swim:
IMG-20180112-WA0002.jpg

And after:
IMG-20180112-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20180112-WA0000.jpg
We were quite tired after the swim but ready for the day.

One of the best parts of joining a club is the socializing after the training or event:20180112_071135.jpg

After the swim the sun was yet to rise over the buildings: 20180112_071130.jpg

It was awesome seeing the sun rise over the mountains while swimming a distance away from the shore. It really reminds you just how small we all really are.

Sort:  

I envy you, Chris!
You can swim!
I mean, I envy you

Nice healty lifestyle. I always wanted to learn how to swim so I can join club like this.

Well it is never to late to learn. I am the youngest at the club at the moment. The majority of our club members are 50+ years old and still going strong.

I guess I still need to gather enough courage to do it. ;)

Just start slow and build up the courage. Go for short swims and always take someone along. You will learn in no time :)

Thank you for the advise!

I love swimming too

It sounds like a fantastic morning workout a lot of people would be really jealous of.
How often do you and your club do this?

This was the first time we have done it. But by the looks of it, it might become a regular event.

Terima kasih atas support untuk blog saya.

looks like a fun bunch of friends mate

Great way to keep fit and healthy, the only sport I loved @chr7is have a great day #teamsouthafrica

One of the best sports just because you can do it forever.

What a nice swim that was Chris maintaining a healthy lifestyle. I did not know how to swim but its ok I guess :) Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58018.11
ETH 2448.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34