UNKNOWN POISON (SWC)

in #swc6 years ago

This is my entry for the Supernatural Writing Contest(SWC) by @jerrybanfield.

The year was 2012. At the time I was working for an oil and gas company doing what is called flow-back. A process that is required to obtain oil, and natural gas from wells to get the resources to refinery. While contributing to the industry something drastic happened that I did not expect. I was on a rotation that required guys to work in increments of 2 weeks on and 1 week off. I just had started my 2 weeks on. When my first day occurred, I remember having a gut wrenching feeling in my stomach, almost as if I had already known bad things where coming my way. Just like when you look up outside and see all the clouds, nine times out of ten that means a storm is coming. And my storm was about to happen.

While I was on a job site working, I went to my work truck to check my phone for any missed calls. Upon opening my phone, I had about 25 missed calls. That’s when I instantly knew something was not right. All the calls were from Jasmine my girlfriend at the time. I have never been one to struggle with anxiety but that night right before I called her back, I was feeling a certain type of way and anxiety was the only word that comes to my mind when I relive that day. When I called Jasmine back I asked her immediately what was going on. She had said that Alexa our 11-month-old daughter was not doing well. I then had asked her “not doing well”? with a bit of tone in my voice because I already knew she had a runny nose for about two days. She then mentioned this was beyond any type of runny nose. Alexa has not eaten anything all day, was looking very pale, and semi- bloated. At the time I was about two hours away and told her to get her to the hospital immediately.


Jasmine got Alexa to the hospital, they said not to worry, and that Alexa could just be reacting to her cold a bit funky. Normal hospital BS in my opinion, and the only reason I say this is because at times it seems as if they will tell you what you want to hear to get you out as soon as possible, if they do not think your case is serious. With doing that I feel as if the potential to overlook diagnosing people can happen more frequently. The hospital gave Jasmine some pedialyte lite to help prevent any malnutrition while Alexa is struggling to keep food down.

Alexa never made any progress, and this what seemed to be unidentified illness continued. Doctor visits happened 5 more times before getting any answers. Essentially having to harass the doctors office just to get one ounce of hope, and instead of just telling us we do not know what's wrong with Alexa they would continue to send us home.


Finally, on the fifth doctor visit, we made progress, but unfortunately this progress came with our daughter riding the fence of not just being sick anymore, but almost being gone. This was a type of reality that I have never experienced before. To see your child surrounded by doctors with no answers, and IV tubes running into her body just to keep her alive is not something any parent should have to experience. And as parents we never want to be in a position to not be able to tell our children what is going on. And trying to explain any of this to a child who has already only been around for 11 months , was already a challenge in itself. With all of this aside, it was time to focus on the solution now. When the doctor told us what was going on it seemed to be a very unsure, and indirect answer. He had stated that this may be diabetes. He also said to be sure we will have to get Alexa to the children's hospital in Denver Colorado that same night.


We had to get her air lifted, and upon arrival it was instant chaos. People running around and saying a bunch of words that no one was familiar with at the time. Alexa had to stay there for 3 weeks, and in that time definitive answers slowly started to come to the surface. We found out through all these past experiences we have essentially been poisoning our own child. Alexa was diagnosed with type one Diabetes, and Celiac disease. We where shocked after finding all of this out. I didn’t even know what to say, what do you even say? Over the course of one month our lives had changed drastically. We have been faced with many new challenges moving forward to help our daughter. We had to go directly into maintaining her newly found health issues instantly. Reading material and absorbing as much information from the doctors as possible. Growing up I had heard about diabetes, but never once heard about Celiac disease.


This was a huge near-death experience for our daughter Alexa. We are so fortunate to see such a small child battle through these tribulations and come out the victor. God must have been watching over all of us during that time in our lives, we did not know when or how all these tribulations were going to play out, but we kept faith and won. We are very grateful to still have Alexa here with us today. We have all been adjusting to her new life style changes very well. Below are some definitions of type one diabetes and some of the life changing actions that had to be taken immediately to insure Alexa’s recovery.


Celiac Disease: A disease in which the small intestine is hypersensitive to gluten, leading to difficulty in digesting food.


Type one diabetes: once known as juvenile diabetes or insulin-dependent diabetes, is a chronic condition in which the pancreas produces little or no insulin. Insulin is a hormone needed to allow sugar (glucose) to enter cells to produce energy. ... Despite active research, type 1 diabetes has no cure.


Things changed


1. Carb counts on all meals.


2. Gluten free diet.


3. Separate cook wear not contaminated with gluten.


4. Constant blood sugar monitoring, a1c check, and ketone checks.


5. Frequent doctor visits to stay ahead of it all.


These are some examples of adjustments made after Alexa’s diagnoses.


sources: google for definitions


photos: https://pixabay.com/en/diabetes-icon-glucose-blood-meter-1710296/

Sort:  

Oh my goodness. That would be a terrifying time and that is a tough diagnosis, though I have to admit as I was reading I was afraid you were going to say she had leukemia because of the symptoms coinciding with a cold.

I'm a little curious, though, if you don't mind sharing - is Alexa vaccinated? I've been hearing there may be a correlation between vaccines and some of these extreme health crises appearing in our little ones. It's not something the medical community seems too willing to discuss, but I'm shocked at the stories I'm hearing from friends about the diagnoses their little ones are getting. One friend has two of her three children exhibiting severe allergy symptoms to many foods and now seems to have celiac's disease herself. There are so many possible things that could be affecting us, but I am definitely curious about the vaccine connection.

She was vaccinated. But there were genetic markers involved that I feel led to it.

Oh, diabetes certainly. It's in my family as well. But I'm seeing some evidence that the stressing of the immune system might be playing into why these severe conditions are appearing in our babies. What's frustrating to me is that there is no further investigation being done into these correlations and I think babies who have genetic markers which should quickly preclude them from vaccinations are being vaccinated because we're being told those vaccines are good for all. So for example, suddenly there is a drastic spike in life-threatening allergies - the allergy tendencies were in the family already as seen by past generations, but the baby has a life-threatening condition. For instance, my uncle had issues all his life with pre-diabetes and allergies. His son has severe asthma and his daughter - after getting the MRI booster in high school - abruptly developed a severe blood clotting issue she'll be on medication for probably the rest of her life. So there was weakness and then immediately following vaccinations there was suddenly life-threatening conditions. What's causing this? Is it the stressing of the immune system? What? This is what is really concerning me for my kids because I have severe allergies and diabetes in my family already - my sister is wheat intolerant, my brother is dairy and peanut intolerant, and diabetes is everywhere. Genetically, my kids are at risk. But that isn't being considered by the pediatricians much.

Just an ongoing concern...and by the way, I had a conversation this summer that reminded me that it's human nature to look at a tragedy in another family and try to find a reason that since you don't have those exact conditions in YOUR family, your children could never suffer such a sudden unreasonable and terrible event. And the truth is, this kind of stuff happens no matter what safeguards you take or what you do.

I have never heard nor seen such a proactive response regarding these matters. Most people do not care, I am extremely appreciative that you take interest in these concerns. Unfortunately the medical field in general seems to have plateaued, when it comes to taking an initiate approach to many health issues. Some of the problems stem from all of us just doing as the doctor says, instead of reading into certain things for ourselves. The entire medical field seems to be more of a financial exploit, instead of a place for scientific solutions and explanations to these issues. (in my personal opinion of course). But to be honest I have never gave the vaccination possibility any attention, and now I will be doing some research of my own into this. On a positive note though our daughter will soon be getting what is called a artificial pancreas through medtronic's, so we are very interested to see if this may be a sign of progress regarding diabetes's. I am also curious if you would like to chat about these matters more via another form of chat. It would be nice to maybe even partake in a dual post for medical awareness. I am very interested in some more information about your Uncle's daughter and the blood clotting issues right after a booster.

I certainly care - the idea of one of my babies suddenly having to address even one of the two conditions you're dealing with is a nightmare.

The medical community in general does not seem to care about vaccine issues because I think they are carefully taught to overcome objections, not to make discriminations. Being a good doctor requires being a detective but too often our up and coming doctors are trained to dispense medicine rather than get to the root of an issue. I also think money is playing a large part in the failure to address this particular problem of vaccines not necessarily being a good fit for all children - money is a huge issue between lawsuits, insurance costs, paying off medical school loans and the profitability of being able to use a one-size-fits-all approach versus treating each patient individually. There is huge pressure on anyone in the medical establishment to work to accepted norms as well, which puts their license seriously on the line if they do not conform. All of this translates to doctoring being done out of fear and for profit before the good of the patient, even on the part of doctors who started out really wanting to do some good.

There are a lot of people especially on Steemit who are beginning to question some of these practices, such as blanket large-scale vaccination. I would be willing to participate in chat - if you are a member of the Steem Engine Discord group I can be found through there.

Before speaking more to my cousin's condition, I will have to verify exactly what I'm saying with my aunt, who did extensive research after my cousin fell ill. There is a name for the condition and it's known to be tied to the vaccine, though I can't remember the name off the top of my head. It's effects have definitely been profound, however, and the condition is what drove me to being researching whether or not it was a good idea to blanket-vaccinate (my own term meaning to give lots of vaccines with little or no regard for what they are for and what my children might be sensitive to).

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-02-08-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

This post has received a 3.63 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptoevolve.

You got a 7.36% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @cryptoevolve!

This post has received a 13.13% upvote from thanks to: @cryptoevolve.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD/STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51