You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🔥Steemit Vision Quest - Week 6: “Queen Of The Forest”

in #svq6 years ago

Hi cabe
Last minute as always. My painting / creation is not quite complete. I will finish it in time and do a post.
This is a progress shot. The canvas is made of eucalyptus paperbark. The feathers - turkey, owl, Rosella, goose, duck guinea fowl, peacock. I collected all of them myself, except the peacock, which were given to me.

IMG_20180311_093328.jpg

I have a bird and feather phobia.
December 2016 I was doing some self directed exposure treatment on a farm. I collected the feathers then with the intention of creating something with them. It has taken me this long to get brave enough. Thank you for providing the opportunity to complete.

Sort:  

Crown of feathers, yes! Love it. Glad to see you working with the bird medicines, facing your fears in this artistic and enlivening way. Especially happy seeing your owl feather(s), and I recognize that prominent turkey feather too. I think I can understand your fear of birds, and even the feathers–they certainly have Spirit in them. I think this Artwork of yours is a massive move for reclaiming your perfect health, sister. I wonder if your owl feather will carry your burden away for you. Maybe if send your Artwork down a stream. Bury it. Give it to the wind. Leave it to the elements.

Six months ago, I found a barn owl by the roadside. I carried it to a place where I could honor its life with a proper burial. I've given the feathers to a special lady friend, because in the Native American Lakota culture (as I understand it) it's the women only who carry the feathers of the "night hawk." So I've been working with the owl as a spirit animal, and just today I buried an owl talon as a symbol of my letting go of a burden, and a pattern. To me, the owl carries away what no longer serves. This is my wish and my Vision, and I believe it is #truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44